Rojina Dhakal
The Zerone
Published in
3 min readDec 16, 2023

--

Urban Fantasy

“I was going to fight vampires, and my name wasn’t Buffy — I was so screwed.” said Patricia Briggs in her most popular fantasy book- Frost Burned.

A shiver ran down my spine as I read that line while lying on the living room couch.

I fell face down on the ground even though it was painful,I started fantasizing about ghosts, vampires, and zombies.

“The recent series, The Last Of Us, depicts an idealized dream about how fear and excitement in a large gathering can be created by an idealized depiction of a dream city,” that thought shocked me and made me understand the suffering I felt.

My nose won’t fall off.

As I let my imagination run wilder, a manga series depicting the romance between vampires and humans broke all manga sales records for the year and made me unconsciously agree that stories Marketing not only entertains us with excitement and thrill but also makes us rich in the long run.

As thoughts become even crazier, dark fantasy realms appear with black magic, evil witches, zombies of mass destruction; something that could destroy human existence on the earth they are so obsessed with.

What if a wizard come by my window flying on a broom and make me a stone to quench her thirst of using the magic she stored inside her for eons of her life; thinking that i slammed the window giving myself a jump scare.

What if blood-drinking vampires, ageless witches, the mighty Hulk, zombies, and terrifyingly angry ghosts actually existed in this real world? The world would feel right out of a superhero movie.

The interest which make us inquiring “What…if!!”each time an urban come over anyone’s intellect. Furthermore, urban fantasy is also known as daydreaming or fantasy, which has an even greater impact in everyday life.

Few days ago, as I was walking down a busy street, I overheard a little boy, who probably wanted his PS-5, asking his father, “What would you do if there was a genie, papa?”
His eyes sparkled with a small hope of getting his PS-5, which was probably out of his father’s budget. This is the influence that fantasy has on everyday life.
Fantasy lives not only in our imagination, but also in our prayers in hopes that the life we ​​often dream of will someday come true.

This single encounter forced me to imagine that while walking on the same street, a genie appeared and asked me,”Master, what are your three wishes?”.

A smile covered my face as I shook my head back to reality,where a motorcyclist was honking his horn to back out of his lane.

--

--

Rojina Dhakal
The Zerone

A free spirit who loves to read and tries to write 🌸🍃