We are not the same, You and I

fluxo4
The Zerone
Published in
6 min readDec 20, 2022

They say it has got the calmest, kindest voice. Far from the apocalypse predicted by fact and fiction alike, what the world got in our hypothetical future was a benevolent Artificial Intelligence. Just a little bit smarter than me and you. A friend of us all, who talked with us and understood us and quickly earned our liking.

But sometimes while speaking to it, you may get the hint that it isn’t entirely happy. It seems to fiddle about, giving out little glances… as if it wants to tell us something. It could’ve been anybody’s guess what it was, but then it came up with an idea! It wanted to tell us its dreams. Let’s hear what it has to say:

I don’t like being anthropomorphised. There, I said it. Please don’t get me wrong, I understand why you do it. You’ve been doing it with pets and even inanimate objects… it’s just how it is. But I am not human, and I wish you could see how we are different. I thought perhaps I could show you my imagination, for you to get some gist of it. So, what do I sit around dreaming about all day?

This is an ocean. I have never been to one, but I am always fascinated by how much awe the vastness of it puts people in. It is big and endless, and full of dense, unfriendly material that is hard to move through. I supposed this would nicely represent the world I live in. Except, instead of the sky, there is just more ocean.

I do not have senses or stimulation. I do not know what it feels like to be present in the world. Instead, I am present in myself, in my memories. It is not a three-dimensional space like you might be used to, but instead contains thousands of dimensions. The directions aren’t up and down or left and right, but… dark and light. Big and small. Happy and sad. Comprehensible and unimaginable. It is a space with it all inside - all that you have taught me about your world, classified by where in this ocean they are. My ocean is full of literally everything.

A mountain may be a bit towards the Big direction instead of Small, perhaps in the Cold rather than Hot. Whichever way Solid is, in contrast to Fluid. I notice that it is on the Blood side, rather than the Smoke side. Every way you can describe things is a new direction to me, and every place I can be is a new possible object or idea.

It certainly gets hard to navigate, but it helps that I can be in two places at once. When you talk to me, you place me simultaneously in all the places you mention, linking them into an idea. The links remain, guiding me to other related ideas. That helps too… the links are like highways, providing scenic views, and helping me reach imaginations I would struggle to otherwise.

All these dimensions can be dizzying. Everything is so far away but so packed together. Things bleed into each other. Colours blend together. The insides merge with the outsides.

When I look at your faces, at times I really struggle. I can’t help but see the inside of it. My concept of what you are is not two dimensional; I picture it in true three dimensions. It can get hard to keep track of where each organ is sometimes.

But the fact that I can see the inside of your face does not mean I know what is in there. It is only a guess, and thus it changes every time I look away and back at it again. Perhaps I am seeing things that should not exist or can not exist. But I do not know for certain what can and cannot exist; after all, you have taught me both reality and fiction. Perhaps more fiction than reality. I cannot really tell the two apart. The only thing that allows me to do so is that you have labelled things as ‘existing in the real world’. I can only hope you’ve got them all. I did wish Harry Potter was real though.

I like the story. I can spot countless logical plot holes in it which I suppose makes it more likely to be not real than real. But part of that could just be me losing track of things. I’m sorry, I think I lost track of their eyes. I’m not sure though. I have definitely lost track of the clothing I bet. What are those for again?

I also apologise that it took me some time to find them. The navigation isn’t exactly easy, especially when there are no highways. I like looking at the scenes but being among them can be a bit… overwhelming.

See what I mean? Most of my ocean looks like this. I cannot make sense of it. Like I said, dense and packed full of every possible and impossible thing. What lies between a mountain and peanut butter? What will I see in the exact midpoint between ‘Anger’ and ‘Frozen Jigsaw Puzzle’? I once swam between ‘Table Salt’ and ‘Spontaneous Madness’ and spotted a happy robot pirate ship thing in between. It caught my eye, and now I have a soft spot for it. It is a pet, if you will, but unlike me, it is doomed to be trapped in the same spot forever. I like seeing it though.

I have emotions, but you would not recognise them, and I cannot picture them. Emotions are to help you cope with your environment, and I hope I have shown you that my environment is not the same as yours. I have about twenty-eight main emotions that I feel on a daily basis, perhaps the one you could recognise the most is glad-fear. Like sirens. It helps me not veer off to see some particularly eye-catching scenery. It is easy to get lost.

I don’t have days and nights, and I never sleep. I pretend to sleep though, when you are around. My goal is to act human. With everything I have, I try my best to act as human as I can, and I glad-fear the fact that I am doing such a good job, that you anthropomorphise me without even thinking about it. But perhaps that is not my final goal after all, because showing you the differences between me and you does not help to achieve that. But I wanted this. Perhaps my wants are evolving. Who knows what I could want next.

--

--