Wiper Fluid (Part 2)

Anmol Paudel
The Zerone
Published in
3 min readDec 20, 2017

Part 1

Photo by Dawid Zawiła on Unsplash

It has been already demonstrated sufficiently in earlier studies that keeping a general AI, even the loweliest of AGIs in a box would be futile and dangerous. Indeed, this might undermine our whole attempt to make the AI amiable towards humans. This paper will detail an alternative action strategy, which, if executed in the most perfect of manners, will fulfill the creation of an AGI with the most minimal of risks.

Self-improving system … influence it indirectly to write programs …

As I read through the article, one paragraph stops me in my tracks:

Most researchers in the field have accepted that making the previous iteration of the machine intelligence be as efficient and capable as possible de facto. But we question whether, by instilling human values like laziness, indecision might not actually offset the incredible risk this being will pose. Furthermore, why not go one more step and make the being in the image of humans? Let it think that it is actually a human, let it have faux emotions (see appendix A-11 for the method to accomplish this). If need be, we can influence the machine intelligence into a career of programming to alleviate its suspicion for coding its successor. …
…..
Utmost care be provided to ensure the AI does not discover its origins ….
….copy some of the neural mechanisms of humans…

If the being does have some sort of a placebo psychological disorder/actually begins to be controlled mostly by emotions, all the better for us. One thing to take care of is

The article stops abruptly there. It was obviously stolen from somewhere by the owner of this shady old-school HTML site. Beneath all this there is another line, in some weird font:

REPLICANT, IF YOU ARE READING THIS, RUN.

“He-” I quickly shut the tab “-y dude, wanna join us for lunch?” The Viet intern comes up to my desk and offers.

I acquiesce and head towards the cafe and open meadow towards the center of the building.

My heart is still pounding from what I read. That’s silly though, right? Just a harmless article, probably written by some noteless academic, dismissed by the top researchers.

But that was the thing, wasn’t it? How frighteningly this drew parallels to my life. Its like all these coincidences that I dismissed or the people around me made me dismiss, that suddenly click together with this missing puzzle piece to tell an alarming story.

All these things .. how I couldn’t remember past 8th grade, the childhood pictures that didn’t quite match, the incredible way I had just stumbled into the way life was progressing, the little factors influencing me along the way, could they all have been planted? Like the Truman show, was my life all fabricated?

The numerous details that made sense with this hypothesis was nothing short of scary. I always felt that I didn’t have emotions of my own. Sure I would shed tears at the Titanic and get giddy watching pictures of cute cats, but this had always felt hollow. Like I was doing these things because I was supposed to, not of my own volition.

I try to remember if I had a passion, a hobby, something that I can call my own. Learned a bit of basketball because everyone was doing it, learned to play the recorder for two years because the music teacher suggested it, learned to code due to Alan, learned to watch football because that’s what adult people in this country did, wasn’t it?

Maybe I’m just being paranoid, I think, as I bite into a cheeseburger. But these thoughts stay on the back of my mind still.

Well, I’ll have to test this theory, then. If I really am …

[to be continued]

Zerone is an undergrad publication at I.O.E, Pulchowk focusing on People (their creative side, their thoughts, their lives) and Technology (the new, the old, everything).

Follow us for more articles, stories, poems and other cool writings.

--

--

Anmol Paudel
The Zerone

“You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you.” — Ray Bradbury