The Crypto Guru — Ian Balina

ZILLA
ZILLA Blog
Published in
2 min readMay 8, 2019

Read this article in 中文 / 日本語 / 한국어

Introduce yourself to the reader:

I was born in Kampala, Uganda and based in Washington, D.C. USA

What got you into crypto?

A friend of mine who was a bitcoin developer told me he was launching a crypto fund to trade cryptocurrencies. The returns outpaced the stock market, so that got me curious and I went down the rabbit hole.

Describe your daily life. A typical day in your life.

Usually traveling, always in a different city or country. I traveled to 35 countries last year. I wake up and read Telegram messages and emails to get caught up from my team, community, and the market.

I then work on whatever action items I have for that day, with calls throughout the day. Calls with 100X Advisors, my investment analyst, my blockchain developer on the Token Metrics website we’re building, my business development and public relations teams reviewing new opportunities.

If I’m traveling for an event, then I’m usually out the whole day and night.

I usually end the night by either watching basketball (Right now I’m watching the NBA Playoffs), Netflix or TV Shows (Right now I’m watching Game of Thrones and Billions) or playing video games (NBA 2K and FIFA).

Regarding crypto and blockchain, what do you believe that most people disagree with?

Centralization is not going away. Centralized exchanges dominate crypto, and people want someone to blame when things go wrong. Customer support is a good centralized thing.

What else are you interested in besides crypto?

Basketball, travel, video production, analytics, video games.

Do you plan on attending any events soon?

Consensus, Malta Blockchain Summit, Africa Blockchain Conference

Any advice to newbies?

Consistently take action every day.

Make a 15-second video to say hi!

🚀Join our community channels and stay updated on the latest news:

The ZILLA Team

--

--