“Hitman’s Wife’s Bodyguard” Review: Playing the same beats is okay sometimes

CakeDive
Zing Cinema
2 min readJul 12, 2021

--

Ryan Reynolds, Samuel Jackson, and Salma Hayek reunite for more madcap hijinks in The Hitman’s Wife’s Bodyguard. (Source: Lionsgate/Millennium Media)

I remember when the first Hitman’s Bodyguard came into theaters and I had the chance to attend an early access screening for the star vehicle of Samuel L. Jackson and Ryan Reynolds. I had a blast, and I vividly remember having interest in a sequel, which was announced not too long after it’s release and box office pull of $176.6 million.

Four years later and I returned to my same theater to see the same group of hilariously fucked up characters blow up stuff and cycle around crude humor, and I enjoyed it.

The chemistry between Reynolds, Jackson and Hayek remains as strong as it was in 2017, even though the film remind me how Reynolds is really annoying in this role. Like extremely annoying, I wanted him to just get pulled away from the story so it could focus on Jackson’s Darius and Hayek’s Sonya more, as their relationship is a key driving force to the story. Reynolds does bounce his humor around with the other to, but it gets old fast.

Antonio Banderas and Morgan Freeman, in contrast, are as surface level as this franchise but because audiences can fall into the groove of the crude humor and explosions from the main cast, it’s easy to question why Banderas and Freeman even needed to be in the film.

All in all, if you love dumb blockbuster movies, this is one of the choices you can go out and enjoy in theaters.

--

--

CakeDive
Zing Cinema

Founder of ZCN Creations and Zing Cinema. Writer, Producer, Gamer, and Editor.