Zingterview with a Translator: Giada Atzeni

“Imagine a little kid worrying about context and terminology at 8 or 9 years old. So I guess that becoming a translator was simply a matter of destiny.”

Giada was born in Italy and lives in Sardinia, an island at the center of the Mediterranean Sea with incredible beaches. Being a translator and an interpreter has always been her dream. After a Bachelor’s and a Master’s Degree in Translation and Interpretation and a Postgraduate Degree in Translation, she started out her career in 2021. However, she began translating as a volunteer in 2017 in the humanitarian and environmental fields. Now Giada works mainly in the medical, IT, marketing and tourism sectors. She also specializes in cosmetics, environment and religious fields.

Meet Giada in her own words!

👉 Giada’s LinkedIn profile

Let’s begin at the beginning. How did you become multilingual?

I started studying English in school, when I was 7 and it was love at first sight. Plus, it was extremely easy for me. Then I’ve studied French for 8 years (middle school and high school) and I started studying Spanish when I was 16, in high school. I work with English and Spanish, the languages I also studied at university. I did not feel confident at all with French.

How and/or why did you become a translator? (And do you suck the life out of words for immortality purposes, or to pay the rent?)

When I started learning English at 7, I remember that I started listening to music in English and that I absolutely wanted to understand the lyrics. I was so curious that I read the lyrics and their translations in the magazines whenever I could. Then I dreamed about understanding the song words without looking at the lyrics. Then I dreamed about being able to talk in English (and then in Spanish) without any effort. Then, at around 12-years-old, I discovered that I could do that by becoming a translator and also an interpreter (because I really like talking).

I still remember a translation mistake about the song Fix You by Coldplay: “Lights will guide you home (…) and I will try to fix you.” The verb “fix” was translated as “punish” in Italian. And I remember thinking: “How can this be possible? It seems a very sweet and delicate song!” I was just 8 or 9 years old. Imagine a little kid worrying about context and terminology at 8 or 9 years old. So I guess that becoming a translator was simply a matter of destiny.

How much of a coincidence is it that you ended up on this path? How much of a choice?

It’s a 100% conscious choice. When I was 12, I also decided that I also wanted to be an interpreter (I’m also an interpreter), so I decided to study languages in high school (English, French and Spanish) and then I studied translation and interpretation at university. Then I knew that I had to specialize in some sectors with a Master’s Degree. Things were extremely clear for me.

Is life everything you thought it would be, and more? What did you think it would be?

It’s even better than I thought! I was surrounded by skeptical people and teachers who did not believe that making a living with translation was possible. They believed in me, but they did not believe in this job. Eventually, I started to believe them a little bit and felt a little bit discouraged. But then I surprised myself and I proved them wrong. I am very proud of that. I am a little surprised that I manage the different aspects of freelancing all alone, but I am doing that and I am very happy about it.

What is it you love about your lifestyle as a translator?

Flexibility: I choose my own working hours, I do not have to commute every day, I do not have to wake up extremely early and I can take all the breaks that I need.

What was your darkest moment as a translator?

Definitely at the beginning: I did not know how to contact translation agencies, I had the wrong approach and nobody answered my emails. Then I learnt the right strategy and how to build an online presence, which is key.

If you listen to music while working, what’s on your speakers lately? Spotify links or YouTube links are much appreciated 😉

I am sorry to disappoint you, but I don’t listen to music when I work, simply because I would get distracted by trying to understand the lyrics and I would start singing. After all, that’s what I’ve been doing since I was 7, LOL.

If you had a magic wand and a pointy hat that actually worked, what would you change about the translation industry or your working lifestyle?

I’d like to see higher rates in some cases and less tight deadlines (sometimes they are simply impossible). But overall I think I found a balance in my working lifestyle, so I would not change anything at the moment. I learnt when to work and how to rest without stressing too much, and I learned that the hard way.

What are you doing at home or in the office to be more productive?

I try to reduce distractions as much as possible: when I’m working, silence is key for me to be more productive. I also write down everything that I need to do for the day to better manage all the deadlines.

Tell us about the weirdest thing you ever translated.

Even if I was raised Catholic, I am not a religious person at the moment. Last year I translated something related to Christianity. It was an interesting experience and I’d like to do that again.

What’s the best question that we didn’t think to ask?

“A common belief is that translators like to be alone and are introverted, is this true?”

My answer would be: I am extroverted, I am also an interpreter and I don’t like working alone for too long, this is why I also work in the tourism sector when I have the chance. Another common belief is that you cannot be a translator and an interpreter at the same time, because translators are “scared” of all the interpreting environment. But I like it! I love the fact that interpretation is fast (even if it literally fries your brain after a while), but I also appreciate the “slowness” of translation.

Are you a translator and want to get Zingterviewed yourself? Apply using this form and we will reach out for your interview! 🐙

--

--

Julija Savić
Zingblog: Freelance Translation, Localization and Global Business

Content & Marketing Manager at Zingword. Freelance translator. Poet. Enjoys long walks to the coffee shop and things with words in them.