“ZoneOut”, What,Why & How?

Bonum Factum
ZoneOut
Published in
3 min readNov 8, 2018

Let’s face it everyone now and then zone out, sometimes because they are in traffic, waiting for the lights to turn green, parked their cars and waiting for a friend/partner, at the cafe wonering what to do next, walking around , and so on. It is extremely easy to zone out especially when alone I mean there isn’t anything else to do unless of course you listen to a podcast or instrumental music which helps you relax mentally and fulfill your thirst for knowledge. There are three “?” I would cover up , the basics & after reading this….. well, let’s start.Don’t worry I will keep this as short & simple as possible.

The Basics for everything.

Whenever you are on your own it’s normal to start zoning out and wondering about things, “ Who would accept me for me?, When will my pay check arrive?, Where to organise an office dinner?, How to understand who is honest & liar?, Why does this happen to me?, What to do next?”, and so on. The most simple to complicated questions you tend to start with.

One usually leans more towards negative questions than a positive one. Yes, it is true. It is extremely easy to get pissed at a situation or a person, but it is difficult to stay calm and try to figure out a solution. Isn’t that strange how easy it is to get mad rather than holding yourself and trying to immediately come up with a solution? It is something to think about.

To be on your own, is to be stronger.

In personal experience, I have zoned out while others were talking but not with me but with other people and that’s when I started to observe personalities, behaviours, judgments, gossips, etc. To be fair I was quite shocked and definitely realised that looks can be deceiving!!

I kept observing more and more everyday nearly every situation and I learned alot about myself, what I genuinely think, what is bright and what are flaws. I started by speaking up my opinions and oh well did I get shut down quickly, people simply started getting offended, felt disrespected, felt lower and let’s face it people live for their pride, ego and self-image. When you try to put your opinion out there, try to be confident and don’t bother if you offend anyone It’s quite simple, but difficult to do.

Eventually I tried to alter to others. I tried to understand what exactly offends them, but later I figured out that what genuinely offends others is just a classic debate. Yes, a debate, when you speak your opinion which is against theirs, some get offended, hurt, even feel disrespected and this isn’t just with opinions, it’s also with stating what you feel, trying to put them back in their role when they try and control situations. Solution: Stay put on your opinions, thoughts, instincts and your knowledge.

--

--

Bonum Factum
ZoneOut
Editor for

“ I need you to wear Confidence as your outfit, A smile as your make up and Empower as your shoes.”