The New Medium Partner Program Changes

My thoughts, a place for discussion, and what I recommend writers do.

Zulie Rane
Zulie Writes

--

On August 1st, Medium is rolling out the new Medium Partner Program (MPP). Medium’s Buster Benson talks all about it here:

“New Partner Program incentives focus on high-quality human writing”

Quick reminder: The MPP is how writers get paid. You join the MPP, then every time a Medium member, AKA someone who pays the $5 a month to read unlimited stories on Medium, reads your story, you get a small portion of that membership fee. More members reading your work = more money from the MPP.

I’m going to go through all the changes, my thoughts on the changes, and what I recommend writers do.

TL;DR? These changes are 98% positive, with one small fly in the ointment.

Here’s my breakdown.

They’re opening up the MPP to 12 more countries — and 50 more by the end of the year

This is amazing. I am so happy that writers from Brazil, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Gibraltar, Hungary, India, Liechtenstein, Malaysia, Malta, Thailand, and the United Arab Emirates will now earn money for their writing.

All writers deserve to get paid for their work! And I’m even more excited that Medium will be rolling out to 50 more countries by the end of the year.

New requirements to…

--

--

Zulie Rane
Zulie Writes

Writer and cat mom. Opinions are my own. This is my just-for-fun profile! My official Medium profile is @Zulie_at_Medium.