Why Zus: Yes, UX’ers Can Change Healthcare

Jenny Chang
Zus Health
Published in
4 min readJan 28, 2022
Jenny descending Mt. Washington, NH on Crawford Path Trail.

The right job excites, thrills, and even scares. In this next iteration of the “Why Zus” blog series, our UX Strategy and Design Lead, Jenny Chang, weighs in on why she joined the team.

Thanks again for taking the time to help with the “Why Zus” series, Jenny.

Absolutely. I find writing to be therapeutic. When presented with the chance to be a part of the “Why Zus” series, I thought, why not? Especially if it helps recruit talented UX’ers. (You know who you are!)

Perhaps more importantly and selfishly, I wanted to tell my story. Heading into a new year, it feels like a fitting time to reflect on what’s important and why.

To kick things off, tell us about yourself.

You could say that I’m an introvert, but extroverted when needed. I’m creative and analytical — process and results are my thing. I’ve been told I’m a loyal friend and a good listener. And I’m recently engaged, though I never thought I’d get married.

I never dreamed of having the privilege to be able to do what I do as a first-generation immigrant from Taiwan. Technology is actually my second career — I used to be a Landscape Architect, and now I’m a user experience designer, a UX’er. I’m privileged to be healthy and have the means and choice for a work/life balance, and I earned this privilege through hard work and some luck. One of my favorite quotes that I reflect on often is, “The harder you work, the luckier you get.”

Why did you join Zus?

Above all, I joined Zus because of its mission to create a technology that provides and levels access to healthcare records for all Americans. I could envision myself as a contributor and see the breadth and depth of impact, especially given how Zus embraces the value of UX and sees it as central to its success alongside product and engineering. It was also encouraging to see strong women in leadership roles throughout the company, which is rare in this field.

Then there’s the opportunity for me to learn new things and solve for big complexities as a way of pushing myself and expanding my skill set. I bring a consumer point of view to that of old-school healthcare. Like utilities, transportation, and real estate, healthcare is finally primed to move out of the bulletin board service (BBS) category, as Julie Yoo puts it, and become as fast, easy, relevant, and convenient as everything else consumers now rely on.

I have first-hand experience with the chaos, mystery, and frustration that comes with trying to find healthcare when you desperately need it. My father-in-law fractured his hip at age 85, two weeks before this past Thanksgiving. He’s lucky to have children who can be his caregivers through this journey, but at the same time, the family doctor didn’t even know that he’s in rehab. I’ve watched my fiancé, Ruth, struggle to connect from afar with every healthcare provider that’s been involved (the social worker, the physical therapist, the occupational therapist, the head nurse on staff, the prescribing nurse, the neurologist, and the orthopedic surgeon) just to get a sense of her father’s overall care. There’s no single point person with a full understanding of my father-in-law’s health story, nor a shared record among the care providers, making it impossible to get holistic, active care.

No one’s care journey should be like this, but this is all too common. At Zus, I’m working with builders to design a platform for providers and patients that allows access to comprehensive medical records across all care team members for holistic care.

What are you looking forward to working on in 2022?

I’m looking forward to telling the story of the Zus vision, how it all works, and what Zus enables. Internally, this means connecting our work with the “why” for our users. Externally, I’m excited to work alongside all the builders and make an impact on their ability to provide holistic, coordinated patient care.

Why should others join Zus?

A previous mentor once said, “Do you want to be a creative who works inside a defined box, or one that helps to define the box?” Are you a creative person who is comfortable in figuring out your way in the dark and turning on the lights for others? Here at Zus, you get to architect the blueprint and design that house.

Metaphors aside, joining Zus means working with smart, caring, mission-driven colleagues. You really can help to shape and create your own adventure here. I feel like for the first time in a workplace, I’m comfortably able to be all parts of me, thanks largely to the people and culture of Zus.

What would you say is your “superpower”?

You could call me The Clarifier: I can quickly hone in on a problem and connect the dots for others, help them think through the problem and find solutions.

Surprise us with something most people don’t know about your background.

I started working and earning a wage at age 14. I grew up as a “restaurant child”, working at the restaurant my mom (who was a single mother) owned as a struggling first-generation immigrant. I also had the honor to work at two of the three big burger chains: Burger King and Wendy’s. I worked hard because I was told that was what I was supposed to do. I excelled in academics with little support from anyone, or restated — I loved to learn and found my talents in both academics and sports. I was the captain of my basketball team and the salutatorian of my high school class. Working at such an early age because I had to and playing team sports taught me how to collaborate, be a quiet leader, and support others in finding success.

--

--

Jenny Chang
Zus Health

Passionate about all things design, photography, and travel. Mission-driven, innovator of UX for the well-being of people in the masses.