Unknown in Kyoto

Day 6: Tokyo > Kyoto

James Glazebrook
überlin does Japan!
1 min readMay 14, 2016

--

Courtesy of Zoë Noble Photography

Riding the bullet train blasting BABYMETAL has to be one of the most high-octane Japanese experiences available. I’d order a coffee, but for the risk of painting the Shinkansen’s pale-grey interior with my brains.

When these headphones are next removed, the buzz of Tokyo will be replaced by the relative calm of Kyoto, which I only know from its shrines and, again, Lost in Translation.

From its soundtrack, Air’s Alone in Kyoto is so redolent of peace and tranquility that I can’t imagine the city contains McDonald’s, public toilets or any other trappings of a modern metropolis. I expect only polished wood, manicured greenery and the gentle slap of slippers on stone.

Am I going to be disappointed?

--

--

James Glazebrook
überlin does Japan!

Your customer support buddy! 😃 Previous: Basecamp, Currently: We are Childfree