Kagawa 1-ku

Learn about elections in Japan

Miyabi's Movie Diary
⭐Miyabi’s Movie Mania⭐

--

Synopsis: Since first running for office in 2003, Mr. Ogawa has repeatedly been elected by proportional district, having lost five of his first five races. Standing in his way in Kagawa’s 1st district is Takuya Hirai, a member of the Liberal Democratic Party. Hirai, a third-generation member of the family that owns Shikoku Shimbun and Nishinippon Broadcasting, narrowly defeated Ogawa in the last general election in 2017. After that, Ogawa gained attention for his parliamentary questioning and film about statistical fraud, and his name recognition spread nationwide; when the Suga administration came to power in 2020, Hirai was appointed minister in charge of digital reform. The title of “minister” is a big deal to voters in Kagawa, a conservative stronghold, and it seemed that Ogawa would have a tough fight on his hands….

The director of this documentary film is Arata Oshima. He is the second son of Nagisa Oshima, one of the great masters of Japanese cinema. His movie sharp cutting edge is inherited from his father.

I like politicians who are serious about their political activities. I think my ideology is leftist. Although I am a leftist, my favorite politician is Mr. Hiromu Nonaka, who was a major politician in the LDP, and I am attracted to people whose ideas resonate with me regardless of their political party. After…

--

--

Miyabi's Movie Diary
⭐Miyabi’s Movie Mania⭐

I am a movie, drama and game geek. I create cinematic stories. Thank you for reading.