Goodbye, my pretty moon.

Sherry Hsieh
走在自我實現的路上
2 min readJun 19, 2019
According to Google translate, it says “Even though I want him, I will run away out of reach. Let’s pray to God for new love to emerge.”

There has been a lot of changes in my life since we stopped talking to each other. I got a new job, had my hair cut, took a trip alone to Tokyo. So many funny and interesting things happened that I used to share with you at once. You did the same, too. We often shared things that amused us, even though we live in different cities.

Not anymore.

You often say life is complicated. Love can’t be the solution to everything. Yes, I do agree life is somehow complicated. However, you forget love gives power to make us want to go through difficulties together. That’s how love solves everything.

You don’t have faith in us. That’s how we failed each other.

As I said to you, I am glad that I didn’t say all those harsh words to you when I was frustrated by your attitude.

I remember the very first day I moved into our school dormitory, you were the first person I met on the campus. You were the dormitory front desk guy. Later that summer night, you knocked on my door and showed me the best view to see moonlight from dorm kitchen window. “Pretty moon tonight” you said. I think I loved you since then.

Many years later, I asked you if we have anything in common. You answered: “Of course we do. We both like reading, get attracted by tiny cute stuff, and are amused by funny things.”

What I wanted to ask was: “You had been lived in Japan for few years. Do you know that “pretty moon tonight” in Japan could mean “I love you”? “

Natsume Sōseki, the greatest writer in modern Japanese history, was well known by one of the famous stories about him: he translated “I love you” in English to “pretty moon tonight” in Japanese.(今夜は月が綺麗ですね) He commented that Japanese don’t say “I love you” but would say “pretty moon tonight” because I AM watching the moon WITH YOU.

Do you know this story, my dear pretty moon?

Recently I attended an immersive experience performance called “The Great Tipsy.” At the end of the performance, they asked whom I wanted to talk with but couldn’t anymore? I thought of you.

This is the last time I am writing to you. You probably won’t even know it.

Life is complicated only when we look at it in a complicated way.

I think I will always miss you.

Goodbye, my pretty moon. Actually, you are not mine anymore.

--

--

Sherry Hsieh
走在自我實現的路上

15年跑跳紐約,胡志明市,台北,廣州,上海的行銷天秤女, 除了分享工作心得, 更愛探索有趣的生活小事。LinkedIn: linkedin.com/in/sherryhsiehmarketing