Accounts

How do I create an account?

You can create an account on Medium with Twitter, Facebook, Google, or by requesting an account creation link to your email.

Why do you need to do this stuff on my Twitter account?

Don’t worry, we won’t ever change your profile, send tweets you didn’t initiate, or follow other accounts. Twitter only offers three levels of access. Our application, and most other Twitter enabled applications, uses the middle level (read & write). This level of permission allows you to Tweet posts you enjoyed without leaving Medium. We also use this permission to allow you to optionally follow @Medium during the sign up process. You can read all the gory details about authentication permissions on Twitter’s developer site.

Why can’t I log in to my account?

Make sure that your browser is logged in to the Twitter or Facebook account that you used to create your Medium account, or you are using the email address you created your account with. You can verify which account you are logged in to by visiting Twitter.com or Facebook.com.

I am being told my email is already in use.

When you create an account on Medium, you must verify it via email. That email address is then tied to your Medium account. It is possible you have a previously created account on Medium created via the social network other than the one you created your Medium account with. You can check by logging in to Twitter or Facebook, and then try signing in to Medium. If neither of those work, contact us at yourfriends@medium.com.

I am being told my Twitter/Facebook account is already in use while connecting in my settings.

You might have a second Medium account created account by using either Facebook or Twitter. You can check this by logging out of Medium and signing in using the account that is already in use. If you no longer want that account, you can request it be deleted from the link at the bottom of the settings page. That will free up that Twitter/Facebook account in our database, and you can then connect it in your primary account’s settings.

My verification email is expired/isn’t for me.

If you receive an error while verifying, it is possible you have two accounts on Medium. You can check this by logging out of Medium and try signing in with both Twitter and Facebook. If you are trying to verify a Twitter-created account while logged into your Facebook-created account you will get an error, and vice versa.

I never created this account.

It is possible you came over to Medium from Facebook or Twitter to read a story, and then tried to interact with the story by recommending, following, or highlighting. You then would have gone through a quick sign-up flow, which would have created your account. We do not automatically create your account. If you no longer want this account, you can request deletion from the bottom of your settings page.

How do I edit my profile?

On desktop, click on your avatar in the upper right-hand corner and choose “your profile,” then click the “edit” button. From here you can change your avatar, background, and bio.

I closed/restarted my Twitter/Facebook account. How do I log back in?

You can request a log in link to the email that is associated with your Medium account. You can then disconnect/update your Twitter/Facebook account in your Medium settings.

Writing

Can anyone publish on Medium?

Yes, anyone can publish their story on Medium. There is no submission process and no review (as long as your story follows our rules and terms). Just create an account and get started.

My post URL is wrong

If you have already published your piece and the title is wrong in the URL, email us and we can fix it for you.

Medium doesn’t work on my browser

Make sure you are using a supported browser.

What about Iceweasel?

Iceweasel is not a supported browser.

You realize Iceweasel is just a GNU version of Firefox right?

Yes, we are aware of that, no it’s still not supported.

Can I write in another language?

You may write in any language you want.

Why can’t I write?

You are using mobile web or an unsupported browser.

I lost my draft!

Try to recover it using the history button (while in edit mode, click the “…” in the upper right and choose “Revision history”). If you are unable to recover it, please email us.

Can I publish something without having it listed on your network?

Yes. Read about unlisted posts here.

Can I embed media?

Absolutely! You can read more about the types of media you can embed in this post.

How do I add and edit tags on my story?

To edit your tags, go to the story and click “edit” in the top right corner, and click “Publish.” You will then be able to add or adjust your tags.

How do I upload a header/cover image?

We no longer offer the option to put text over a title image.

This change does have a reason: More people are reading on their phones and mobile devices than ever before. We did some research, and the results are here:
https://medium.com/data-lab/how-much-do-people-read-on-their-phones-3cb86e45826b

We want to make sure that what you create is presented clearly, cleanly, and consistently across all platforms. There are certain things that look good on the web that don’t on mobile devices. And having the text over the image was one of them.

For a bit more explanation, please read this post by one of our designer: https://medium.com/@mwichary/of-screens-big-and-small-5e847e84410f

Ultimately, we want your stories to look their best, and have the greatest chance of spreading through and being read by the Medium community.

What are responses and how do they work?

When you find a story that inspires, enrages, or otherwise engages you, use the space at the bottom of the original post to write your response. Or maybe you have a question you want answered, or stories you want to hear. Jump in and make your voice heard. Read more about responses here.

Promotion

How do I become a Staff Pick?

Staff picks are curated by our editors. They are a combination of stories that are trending on Medium and ones they feel deserve promotion.

How do I tag my story?

To add or edit your tags, make sure you are in edit mode and click “Publish.” You will them be able to add or adjust your tags.

How do I change my preview image that displays on social?

Click on the image to highlight it and press cmd+option+8. If you did it correctly the border will turn red.

How do I get read on Medium?

Add relevant tags to your post. Promote your post on all your social channels. Submit it to Reddit/Digg/4chan/etc in the appropriate community.

Why do I already have followers on Medium?

When you link your Twitter or Facebook account we import any existing followers who also have a Medium account.

Publications

How do I change my publication URL?

You can’t do that yourself. Send us an email at yourfriends@medium.com and we can help you.

How do I submit to a publication?

There are no open submissions to publications. You must be made a writer. If a publication is open to new submissions and writers, they will have their contact info on their publication homepage.

How do I communicate with a publication owner?

Publications have the option to put their contact information (Twitter, Facebook, and email) on their publication homepage.

Can I have a custom domain for my publication?

We have recently begun offering custom domains for publications. You can read more about it in this post.

How do I add writers/editors to my publication?

If you are the owner or editor of a publication, edit your publication and choose “People” from the side menu. You can add writers and editors there.

How do I feature a story in my publication?

To set a featured story in a publication, go into edit mode. On the layout screen, make sure you have a “Featured” section. Use the drop down arrow next to the story placeholder to select the featured story.

I’m having trouble removing a story from a publication.

Read this post for more information. If you are having problems with an older post, send us an email at yourfriends@medium.com, and we’ll help you out.

Images

How can I get my title image to fit correctly?

Images are responsive to the size of your screen, because of this, we recommend using a rectangular image at least 1000 px wide. Make sure all the interesting bits are near the center of the frame.

Why can’t I upload my image?

Make sure it’s less than 25 MB.

How do I change my preview image that displays on social?

Click on the image to highlight it and press option+cmd+8. If you did it correctly the border will turn red. If you want to re-scrape the image for Facebook, go here and put the URL into the tool and click “Fetch new scrape information.”

I have other questions about images!

This post might have what you are looking for.

Also, we no longer offer the option to put text over a title image.

This change does have a reason: More people are reading on their phones and mobile devices than ever before. We did some research, and the results are here:
https://medium.com/data-lab/how-much-do-people-read-on-their-phones-3cb86e45826b

We want to make sure that what you create is presented clearly, cleanly, and consistently across all platforms. There are certain things that look good on the web that don’t on mobile devices. And having the text over the image was one of them.

For a bit more explanation, please read this post by one of our designer: https://medium.com/@mwichary/of-screens-big-and-small-5e847e84410f

Ultimately, we want your stories to look their best, and have the greatest chance of spreading through and being read by the Medium community.

Mobile

Are you making a night mode for mobile?

Not at the moment but we might in the future.

Is there an Android app?

Yes! Download it here and read more about it here.

Is there an iOS app?

There is! You can download it here.

Did we A your Q? If not, shoot us an email at yourfriends@medium.com.

--

--