Click here to read about 100 Days of Watercolor & Gouache and memory bank.

As promised, here is 100 Days of Crochet (and maybe knitting if I take it up).

I started to crochet after I graduated from college. I was lingering on campus because of my post-graduation job in the IT department at my college, and still felt like I could cash in on my student identity since I never left.

During college, I found it difficult to make time for hobbies and extracurriculars, so although I attended one or two meetings for the college’s charity crochet and knitting club, I didn’t make a habit of it.

Now that I had time after my set 9–5 schedule, I wanted to try crochet out and see if I could learn to make cute stuffed animals out of yarn (“amigurumi”) that I had seen on the Internet here and there. Luckily, the college club still had all the yarn and tools for me to try it out. ;) (Yes, I crashed my college’s student club after I graduated and was working as college staff.)

I found that with the help of others to demonstrate it in person, crochet is an easy skill to learn. It was relaxing, didn’t take much thought, and resulted in cute creations like hats or amigurumi that I could gift to friends without spending a lot of money. As you might imagine, it’s a therapeutic hobby.

I’ve struggled with light-to-moderate depression since towards the end years of high school, and I find that having therapeutic hobbies is a happy solace. There’s just something satisfying about yarn pooling beneath your fingers and transforming into a finished product, just like any creative process which results in something new and of your creation.

Here’s to relaxing, creative hobbies!

--

--

Electra Chong
100 Days of Crochet (+ maybe knitting)

Software eng @grovecollab. I like art, rpgs, sci-fi/fantasy & josei manga! V●ᴥ●V @scrippscollege ’15, @holbertonschool ‘18.