Accused of fraud: HRC 71/100

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton
2 min readOct 8, 2016

--

7 October, 2016 | Index

Dear Hillary Clinton,

Gerard Mclean here, from Englewood, Ohio, just north of Dayton. This is the seventy-first letter of one hundred I am writing you on health care; one for each day between your nomination and your election. The previous letters can be found in your USPS mailbox or online at 100HRC.com.

One of the tactics that Anthem BC/BS of Ohio uses to delay payment of claims is to send me a letter after I had gone for a doctor’s visit, asserting that they believe I have another insurance plan, basically accusing me of committing insurance fraud by double-dipping for one claim.

The letter will typically state that insurance payments will be held until I complete the vague but detailed survey and return it within ten days. There is typically no return envelope and the mailing address will either not be enclosed or in very small type. There will be no phone numbers on the letter. I will have to hunt down a phone number and be on hold with the billing office for probably about an hour, whenever then are next open, M-F, 9am-4pm, closed on holidays.

I recently received one such letter. I can provide it to you if you are interested.

It is not enough that Anthem BC/BS of Ohio feels justified increasing my premiums 29%, they also feel it necessary to accuse me of fraud with no proof AND hold up payments to my doctor and pharmacy. The indignities we suffer at the hands of for-profit insurance corporations are exhausting.

We need SinglePayer, MedicareForAll, UniversalCare to put an end to this nonsense. I demand to be treated better as a human being.

Regards,

Gerard McLean
cc: Sen. Sherrod Brown

Index

71/31

--

--

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton

Picking my brain will cost you a fortune. No discounts. Author; Monkey with a Loaded Typewriter http://amzn.to/1xxlLZB @rivershark @gerardmclean everywhere.