Bill explains the ACA spot on: HRC 68/100

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton
2 min readOct 5, 2016

--

4 October, 2016 | Index

Dear Hillary Clinton,

Gerard Mclean here, from Englewood, Ohio, just north of Dayton. This is the sixty-eighth letter of one hundred I am writing you on health care; one for each day between your nomination and your election. The previous letters can be found in your USPS mailbox or online at 100HRC.com

When Bill Clinton was in Flint today, he explained clearly — in under three minutes — the issue that has taken me almost seven years of writing letters, calling my congressional representatives, my governor, health insurance company and the Ohio Department of Insurance, tweeting, blogging and generally creating a stink, screaming, “I EXIST AND I MATTER!”

Bill gets coast-to-coast attention with a three minute comment. Sure, the media is getting it all wrong and excerpting the wrong thing (except Sara Kliff at Vox) but it’s a start. And I am not letting it go.

Now I know that you know the issue exists. I know you now know I exist. More importantly, I know now from calling Sen. Brown’s office that he knows I exist. I am not crazy; I am not imagining the flaw of the ACA that is swallowing me and those like me whole.

“They’re not organized and have no bargaining power…” Bill said. No truer words, but this no longer. This is the start of us organizing. Hold on tight, Hill; it’s gonna be a bumpy ride.

We want SinglePayer, MedicareForAll, UniversalCare or as Bill said, buy-in to Medicare. We’re not looking for a hand out, just affordable health care.

I look forward to chatting with you in the very near future over coffee and pastries on your plans to make this happen. I’m free all next week; call first, I have three large dogs.

Bill can come with, if he wants.

Regards,

Gerard McLean
cc: Sen. Sherrod Brown

Index

68/36

Supporting links:

--

--

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton

Picking my brain will cost you a fortune. No discounts. Author; Monkey with a Loaded Typewriter http://amzn.to/1xxlLZB @rivershark @gerardmclean everywhere.