Dead men can’t work a good job: HRC 56/100

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton
2 min readSep 23, 2016

--

22 September, 2016 | Index

Dear Hillary Clinton,

Gerard Mclean here, from Englewood, Ohio, just north of Dayton. This is the fifty-sixth letter of one hundred I am writing you on health care; one for each day between your nomination and your election. The previous letters can be found in your USPS mailbox or online at 100HRC.com

I caught you on Between Two Ferns with Zach Galifianakis and you are quite funny! Red power tie… remind me not to ever cross you; the digs cut to the soul.

When you are elected president and you ever find yourself in need of a straight man to bounce your comedy off of, can I get a day pass into the White House? I have references.

All kidding aside, I noticed that you said the focus of your presidency would be “the economy with more good jobs and rising incomes.” I get that; it is pretty urgent that more people get better jobs. But even at “good jobs,” employees are now shouldering 43% of their health care costs, compared to 39% 15 years ago and less than that at the beginning of GWB’s first term. With incomes first rising at just 5.2% since the Great Recession, I’m puzzled as to where the income gap for medical care gets filled.

That is a lot of wages to make up to even begin affording medical health insurance, especially when I am apparently now looking at a 29% increase every year in Ohio. There is only so much time in a day one can work a “good job” before being crushed by these rising costs.

If I have a vote in the matter, can you focus on SinglePayer, MedicareForAll, UniversalCare instead? After all, if we don’t have good health, making a good job available is a rather moot point.

Regards,

Gerard McLean
cc: Sen. Sherrod Brown

Index

--

--

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton

Picking my brain will cost you a fortune. No discounts. Author; Monkey with a Loaded Typewriter http://amzn.to/1xxlLZB @rivershark @gerardmclean everywhere.