Do not call 911! HRC 45/100

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton
2 min readSep 13, 2016

--

11 September, 2016 | Index

Dear Hillary Clinton,

Gerard Mclean here, from Englewood, Ohio, just north of Dayton. There were 100 days from your nomination to election, so I’m writing you 100 letters. This is the forty-fifth letter. The others can be found in your USPS mailbox or online at 100HRC.com

I tried to stay away from the television today. I have my own memories of 9/11 and I didn’t really need to see everything re-played for the sake of ratings, drama and feeding the ego of your opponent.

But then, the news and my twitter feed erupted when you apparently fell ill and had to leave early. I hope you are ok.

I do feel I need to apologize; your health was not the first thought I had. The first thought I had was starting to calculate the cost to seek ER care on a Sunday afternoon, if that were me or anyone in my family; because that is what an insurance-based health care system that demands increasing co-pays and OOP deducibles does to your head.

We figure out first whether or not we can afford to faint and become dehydrated on a sunny day in a public place. (BTW, 911 call, $500.00; ER admit with hydration, $1400.00; overall cost to attend a 9/11 ceremony, ~$1,900.00 OOP. That figure is probably conservative.) In short, most of us would not have sought care. In fact, I have a standing request with my family and friends NEVER to call 911 on my behalf.

We need UniversalCare, SinglePayer, MedicareForAll. The first thought when we need medical care should be our health, not our wallet.

Regards,

Gerard McLean
cc: Sen. Sherrod Brown

Index

45/55

--

--

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton

Picking my brain will cost you a fortune. No discounts. Author; Monkey with a Loaded Typewriter http://amzn.to/1xxlLZB @rivershark @gerardmclean everywhere.