Dying in vain: HRC 5/100

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton
2 min readAug 2, 2016

--

2 August, 2016 | Index

Dear Hillary Clinton,

Gerard McLean here, writing to you from Englewood, Ohio. This is letter 5 of 100. The previous 4 are posted online at 100HRC.com as well as delivered via USPS to your office. You’re probably on the road, so I hope me posting them online as well helps you stay current.

I know I promised to talk about the number 29% today, but as I was walking my three dogs in the park yesterday, a question popped into my head:

What if future generations look back at American history and instead of being taught the most important war we fought was not for the preservation of the United States and the abolition of slavery, but one fought for the preservation of the for-profit health insurance industry?

That the line delivered in a speech “…these dead shall not have died in vain” referred not to brave soldiers but to average human beings who did not have enough money for the exorbitant premiums the insurance companies demanded of them?

How embarrassing will that be for our children to explain to their children, that the “battle” we callously allowed fellow human beings to die in was over a bit of billionaire pocket change?

#MedicareForAll #UniversalCare #SinglePayer

Regards,

Gerard McLean

cc: Sen. Sherrod Brown

Index

--

--

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton

Picking my brain will cost you a fortune. No discounts. Author; Monkey with a Loaded Typewriter http://amzn.to/1xxlLZB @rivershark @gerardmclean everywhere.