Giving up, quitting: HRC 76/100

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton
2 min readOct 13, 2016

--

12 October, 2016 | Index

Dear Hillary Clinton,

Gerard Mclean here, from Englewood, Ohio, just north of Dayton. This is the seventy-sixth letter of one hundred I am writing you on health care; one for each day between your nomination and your election. The previous letters can be found in your USPS mailbox or online at 100HRC.com.

When I started this project, one hundred letters on health care in America seemed like a very do-able project. There is a lot wrong with our system, a lot of people making a lot of undeserved money and gaining power in gate-keeping our health. That makes for a lot of content!

But today, trying to bang out another twenty-four letters seems an almost insurmountable task. To be entirely honest, today, I want to give up. My U.S. Senator has staff that sneers at me and he himself has not responded in over seven years. Friends and family are telling me this is a waste of time, that these letters won’t change anything. They might be right, but if I don’t try to find some way to force change, who will?

It’s not like seeking the presidency; I suppose that takes a bit more resolve than writing a hundred letters. But the motivation is the same; we both are getting up and doing it without knowing if what we do today will make any difference for a better tomorrow.

We need SinglePayer, MedicareForAll, UniversalCare. I can’t give up on this.

Regards,

Gerard McLean
cc: Sen. Sherrod Brown

Index

76/26

--

--

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton

Picking my brain will cost you a fortune. No discounts. Author; Monkey with a Loaded Typewriter http://amzn.to/1xxlLZB @rivershark @gerardmclean everywhere.