Government “service” seeds distrust: 97/100

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton
2 min readNov 3, 2016

--

2 November, 2016 | Index

Dear Hillary Clinton,

Gerard Mclean here, from Englewood, Ohio, about 474 miles west of The White House in Washington, DC. Let me know if you need driving directions to my house for coffee and pastries after this coming Tuesday.

This is the ninety-seventh letter of one hundred I am writing you on health care; one for each day between your nomination and your election. The previous letters can be found in your USPS mailbox or online at 100HRC.com.

Today, I went into the US Passport office in Englewood. My intention was to renew my passport, like I have every ten years since… well, forever. Since the local Kinkos closed down and photos are getting harder and harder to get, I was ready and willing to pay the extra $30 fee to have them just do everything.

The agent at the desk could not be bothered with me. She told me if they did the biometrics, I had to apply for a brand new passport. That didn’t seem right. She was annoyed I was there, even as I was the only one at the desk. She was more concerned about processing the stack of paper on her desk.

This is what scares people about SinglePayer, MedicareForAll, UniversalCare health care. This is how the US Government “serves” us little people at the local level. This is your opportunity to change our mind about “government services.”

Fix that and you’ll pave the road to Universal Care. In the meantime, I’ll sigh deeply, fill out the forms and source a photo myself. Maybe after ten more years, the State Department will have discovered a better way to interact with the citizens it serves.

Regards,

Gerard McLean
cc: Sen. Sherrod Brown

Index

97

--

--

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton

Picking my brain will cost you a fortune. No discounts. Author; Monkey with a Loaded Typewriter http://amzn.to/1xxlLZB @rivershark @gerardmclean everywhere.