Health insurance CEOs are inept: HRC 21/100

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton
2 min readAug 18, 2016

--

18 August, 2016 | Index

Dear Hillary Clinton,

My name is Gerard Mclean, from Englewood, Ohio, ten miles north of Dayton, 68 miles west of Columbus, at the Crossroads of America where I70 & I75 meet. I’m writing you 100 letters, one for each day between your nomination and election. This is the twenty-first. The others can be found in your USPS mailbox or online at 100HRC.com

In my Wednesday letter, I mentioned an article that was published in the New York Times that I just can’t get out of my head. It outlined why health insurance companies felt they needed double-digit increases for 2017.

This is an industry that no longer needs to provide a product to cover anyone over 65. With the ACA, it has the Federal Government marketing its products via the Marketplace, does not need to market to anyone under 27 as their parents take care of that AND are guaranteed we will buy their products because of the individual mandate. In short, most of the common business problems we small business owners stress over are being done for them; marketing, sales, collections.

Yet, they justify the outrageous CEO salaries and perks because they reflect “the size and complexity of our business.” I’m confused about what complex problems the highly compensated CEOs are now expected to solve. Aren’t you?

I think Americans are quickly coming to the conclusion that private, for-profit health insurance corporations are simply inept at basic business. Why are we continuing to reward them for their incompetence by supporting them and approving their increases?

Universal Care, Medicare For All. Let’s roll.

Regards,

Gerard McLean

cc: Sen. Sherrod Brown, Elizabeth Warren

Index

--

--

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton

Picking my brain will cost you a fortune. No discounts. Author; Monkey with a Loaded Typewriter http://amzn.to/1xxlLZB @rivershark @gerardmclean everywhere.