I can live in a van if I need to: HRC 35/100

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton
2 min readSep 2, 2016

--

1 September, 2016 | Index

Dear Hillary Clinton,

Gerard Mclean here, from Englewood, Ohio, just north of Dayton. There were 100 days from your nomination to election, so I’m writing you 100 letters. This is the thirty-fifth letter, which means there are sixty-five days left in the election. The others can be found in your USPS mailbox or online at 100HRC.com

In 2005, I bought a 2004 Chevy Express cargo van to function as a mobile media base for our team that took photos for the soccer tournaments my company* produces. Two years later, the market collapsed as everyone bought digital cameras and no longer purchased professional action photos.

Basically, the van is just a large tin can with an engine. Logically, I have no good reason to keep it because we are no longer taking photos. But I just can’t get rid of it for one irrational reason:

If I ever become homeless due to medical bankruptcy, at least I will have a place to live that is not a cramped car or a dangerous shelter.

This is really the only reason I am hanging onto the van. Crazy, right?

We need UniversalCare, SinglePayer, MedicareForAll. I don’t want to live out of my van, but at least I know if I need to, I have a place to stay.

Regards,

Gerard McLean
cc: Sen. Sherrod Brown

*FYI: The company is TourneyCentral. It creates jobs and feeds the Ohio economy; with over 500,000 players, families and their fans attending soccer events each year because of the software we provide. Sen. Brown and Gov. Kasich are aware of our contributions… I think….

--

--

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton

Picking my brain will cost you a fortune. No discounts. Author; Monkey with a Loaded Typewriter http://amzn.to/1xxlLZB @rivershark @gerardmclean everywhere.