It’s about respect: HRC 70/100

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton
2 min readOct 7, 2016

--

6 October, 2016 | Index

Dear Hillary Clinton,

Gerard Mclean here, from Englewood, Ohio, just north of Dayton. This is the seventieth letter of one hundred I am writing you on health care; one for each day between your nomination and your election. The previous letters can be found in your USPS mailbox or online at 100HRC.com

Yesterday, I called my Democratic US Senator’s office to confirm he was receiving copies of my letters to you. His staffer who answered the phone audibly rolled his eyes with a hint of exasperation. I wasn’t sure how to take that response at the time, so I largely ignored it. I wrote my senator a letter under separate cover addressing the issue, however.

It occurs to me that that biggest problem the US Government has when it comes to trying to provide services to its citizens is itself. At every level, we are treated as annoyances, as problems that must be dispatched quickly instead of people who have paid taxes into a community and trust our elected officials and those they hire will provide services willingly and with enthusiasm.

You may see the Federal Government from a whole different perspective and I respect that. From your perspective, you see millions of people your potential presidency can help. From mine, however, I see one. I only get one chance at life — at health — and I did not ever imagine getting to this age and having to fight not only my community, but my government just to breath the air with dignity.

I expect to be treated as a leech by the Republicans at every level. They have never hidden their distain for us, especially if we show even the slightest hint of being a Democrat. But I have higher expectations from Democrats.

We need affordable health care with the expansion of the ACA. I’m only engaging with you and my Democratic Senator because I hope and trust you both care. I’ve already given up on the Republicans.

Regards,

Gerard McLean
cc: Sen. Sherrod Brown

Index

70/32

--

--

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton

Picking my brain will cost you a fortune. No discounts. Author; Monkey with a Loaded Typewriter http://amzn.to/1xxlLZB @rivershark @gerardmclean everywhere.