Ohio kids: 14/100

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton
2 min readAug 11, 2016

--

11 August, 2016 | Index

Dear Hillary Clinton,

This is Gerard Mclean from Englewood, Ohio. I’m writing 100 letters to you, one for every day from your nomination to your election. Today is number fourteen. It’s pretty hot here in The Middle right now, but it will soon be September and with it, milder temperatures.

I hope you make it to the Ohio State Fair. Our butter cow is extraordinary! We think it’s better than Iowa’s, but I get that you may wish to remain neutral on that.

My daughter is coming to visit me for a spell. She grew up in Englewood, went to college at Wright State University and graduated with a BA in History. After working for a local marketing company for about a year, she moved to Houston for a better job. She’s not ever coming back to live here; there’s nothing left here for her.

I’m not sure what Sen. Sherrod Brown has told you about the economic recovery in Ohio, but regardless of the glowing unemployment numbers, there really are no jobs for smart kids in Ohio. They are all moving away.

In addition, my American Dream home is gradually becoming my coffin. In time, I will probably have to refinance to dip into the equity, to pay my insurance premiums gliding into Medicare Age. In the end, I won’t have any home equity left, but I’ll at least have health insurance. We need Universal Care. We need it soon before Anthem BCBS of Ohio kills us off financially, if not physically.

Perhaps that is the plan all along. I’ve become a bit of a cantankerous old man as of late, so I get why that would be the plan.

Regards,

Gerard McLean

cc: Sen. Sherrod Brown

Index

--

--

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton

Picking my brain will cost you a fortune. No discounts. Author; Monkey with a Loaded Typewriter http://amzn.to/1xxlLZB @rivershark @gerardmclean everywhere.