Proving Oprah wrong: HRC 88/100

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton
2 min readOct 24, 2016

--

24 October, 2016 | Index

Dear Hillary Clinton,

Gerard Mclean here, from Englewood, Ohio, about ten miles north of Dayton, This is the eighty-eighth letter of one hundred I am writing you on health care; one for each day between your nomination and your election. The previous letters can be found in your USPS mailbox or online at 100HRC.com.

Let’s prove Oprah wrong.

I believe you will be coming over to my house soon, so we can have a frank conversation about the ACA, how those of us in the hole Bill described are faring, how we are adapting our lives to live in the insanity that is now the American medical system and of course, how you think I make the tastiest scones you’ve ever had.

I’ll share my recipe, but it is more than just the ingredients; it is how they are treated during the mixing, resting and baking. Scones are also a metaphor for health care.

Bring Sen. Sherrod Brown and Senator Tim Kaine with you; they are both invited. Oprah can come too if she’d like.

We need SinglePayer, MedicareForAll, UniversalCare more than I need a visit, though both would be nice.

Regards,

Gerard McLean
cc: Sen. Sherrod Brown

PS: I was almost successful showcasing a medical product on Oprah back in the mid-’90s when I was working for ELA, selling exercise bikes to paralyzed people. Chris Reeve was one of my customers and endorsers of the Stimmaster. I was this close to Oprah once. Still a fan. :-)

Index

88/16

--

--

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton

Picking my brain will cost you a fortune. No discounts. Author; Monkey with a Loaded Typewriter http://amzn.to/1xxlLZB @rivershark @gerardmclean everywhere.