The job turned out to be a coffin: HRC 75/100

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton
2 min readOct 11, 2016

--

11 October, 2016 | Index

Dear Hillary Clinton,

Gerard Mclean here, from Englewood, Ohio, just north of Dayton. This is the seventy-fifth letter of one hundred I am writing you on health care; one for each day between your nomination and your election. The previous letters can be found in your USPS mailbox or online at 100HRC.com.

Up until about three, maybe four years ago, I was as healthy as an ox, but then something started giving way with my nerves. I’ll spare you all the somewhat horrifying details, but I find out along the way through my doctors that Southwest Ohio has a high incidence rate of autoimmune diseases. Politicians and doctors are puzzled as to why.

Could it be that we have a nuclear research facility a few miles down the road in Miamisburg, or stuff going on at WPAFB that nobody really knows about, the media can’t report on and the employees and contractors there can’t talk about? Or maybe it’s because on a clear, cool morning, when there is a breeze blowing just right, the stench of whatever Cargill is making in their plant up the road wafts over my deck, straight into my lungs? And what really is that white powdery substance that’s been settling on cars around the plant?

Apparently, I am my own biggest risk to Anthem BC/BS of Ohio. My BMI (19.5, thanks for asking) is never quite good enough, I am a year older and I dared use medial services for claims which I am paying premiums against. But am I really my biggest risk?

We need SinglePayer, MedicareForAll, UniversalCare. The government contractors and corporations take from us, pollute us and abscond with profits when their core workforce becomes too sick to maintain. They are not really paying the true cost of “job creation” around these parts. Not really.

I moved to Dayton, Ohio 27 years ago for a better job. As it turns out, I may have just started building my coffin instead.

Regards,

Gerard McLean
cc: Sen. Sherrod Brown

Index

75/27

--

--

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton

Picking my brain will cost you a fortune. No discounts. Author; Monkey with a Loaded Typewriter http://amzn.to/1xxlLZB @rivershark @gerardmclean everywhere.