Title 39 of the Ohio Revised Code: HRC 19/100

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton
2 min readAug 17, 2016

--

16 August, 2016 | Index

Dear Hillary Clinton,

My name is Gerard Mclean, living in Englewood, Montgomery County, Ohio. I’m writing you 100 letters, one for each day between your nomination and election. This is the nineteenth. The others can be found in your USPS mailbox or online at 100HRC.com

Today, I read an article in the New York Times about how insurance corporations are requesting double-digit increases for policies in the Marketplace. I was livid reading about the unabashed greed reflected in each succeeding paragraph of the article. It’s as if they have no shame!

Last year, Anthem BC/BS of Ohio requested and was granted the right to increase my premiums by 29%. TWENTY-NINE PERCENT! When I wrote to the Ohio Department of Insurance asking for the authorization trail as well as how the ODI was funded, they wrote back and said “fees, by authority of title 39 of the Ohio Revised Code.”

I looked up the title and discovered the ODI gets funded through fees billed back to the insurance companies based on the volume of insurance they write in the State of Ohio. In short, the higher the increase, the more ODI gets in fees. When I wrote the ODI back to confirm my analysis, they did not reply.

Something stinks in the world of insurance. I think it’s rotten greed. We need UniversalCare now, before the Departments of Insurance and insurance corporation guts us all.

Regards,

Gerard McLean

cc: Sen. Sherrod Brown

Index

--

--

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton

Picking my brain will cost you a fortune. No discounts. Author; Monkey with a Loaded Typewriter http://amzn.to/1xxlLZB @rivershark @gerardmclean everywhere.