We’re not getting any younger; HRC 74/100

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton
2 min readOct 11, 2016

--

10 October, 2016 | Index

Dear Hillary Clinton,

Gerard Mclean here, from Englewood, Ohio, just north of Dayton. This is the seventy-fourth letter of one hundred I am writing you on health care; one for each day between your nomination and your election. The previous letters can be found in your USPS mailbox or online at 100HRC.com.

During the second debate with your opponent yesterday, you cited that because of the ACA, health insurance corporations could no longer deny us insurance because of an exiting condition. That’s almost true.

This past year, Anthem BC/BS of Ohio increased my insurance premiums by 29%. They justified 13% of that increase due to my age. The remaining 16%, they attributed to my health history. Up until about two years prior, I was in perfect health. I don’t smoke or drink, I watch what I eat and remained active, 3–4 walks a day with my dogs.

Apparently age alone is a pre-existing condition with which an insurance corporation can increase my premiums by double-digits. Only in America do we reward survival with a financial penalty.

Freedom, amirite Hil?

We need SinglePayer, MedicareForAll, UniversalCare. We’re not getting any younger; any of us.

Regards,

Gerard McLean
cc: Sen. Sherrod Brown

Index

74/28

--

--

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton

Picking my brain will cost you a fortune. No discounts. Author; Monkey with a Loaded Typewriter http://amzn.to/1xxlLZB @rivershark @gerardmclean everywhere.