Working together: HRC 81/100

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton
2 min readOct 17, 2016

--

17 October, 2016 | Index

Dear Hillary Clinton,

Gerard Mclean here, from Englewood, Ohio, about seventy miles west of Columbus, straight down I70, exit 29. In addition to a Tim Hortons, we now have a Panera and soon to have a stand-alone Starbucks. We are becoming quite a metropolis here; you should stop by.

This is the eighty-first letter of one hundred I am writing you on health care; one for each day between your nomination and your election. The previous letters can be found in your USPS mailbox or online at 100HRC.com.

I started my day listening to Ambassador Rufus Gifford recap his visit to Åhrus on a Facebook video. He is an amazingly insightful man I hope will find a place in your administration, if he wishes to continue to serve. Ambassador Gifford is the face of America to the rest of the world we all wish we could be everywhere else.

But I digress. He said something in the video I would like you to know I am mindful of. I’ll paraphrase, but he said Barack Obama said the presidency is at once the most powerful and least powerful job in the world. While we both may want ACA reforms, you still must work with Congress to enact them.

I get that. I am not writing these letters with any expectation that you and you alone will make the changes happen, but rather, as a reminder that I am here and I wish to be heard. I am never going to be 90% of a person so any law that only covers 90% of the people, while still a high number, will always fall short.

We need to start on SinglePayer, MedicareForAll, UniversalCare now. I’m not going away, I’m not giving up. But for now, I am going to “light a candle” and enjoy the warm October day.

Regards,

Gerard McLean
cc: Sen. Sherrod Brown

Index

81/23

--

--

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton

Picking my brain will cost you a fortune. No discounts. Author; Monkey with a Loaded Typewriter http://amzn.to/1xxlLZB @rivershark @gerardmclean everywhere.