6) Working to change

Eric Turner
100 Naked Words
Published in
2 min readFeb 28, 2017

We’ve all been there, right? There’s something in our lives, or perhaps in us, that might need to change. It’s tough to admit to yourself that maybe you get angry a little too often, or maybe you don’t think of others enough. Whatever it is, change is hard.

You are who you are. You’ve been this way all along, so why all of a sudden does it feel like people are pointing out flaws in your character? Well, we all have them, so don’t become discouraged upon that realization. Change is something that has to start over every day. You’ve heard people say, “it takes 30 days to break a habit” or whatever, but I’m telling you it takes every day to change.

Take me for example. I become defensive too easily at times. It’s not something I’ve always recognized, though. So, when someone would call me out like, “you get way too defensive, dude”, it was tough. Because of having this issue, I would then become defensive of that criticism, making it more difficult to actually work toward changing the issue. Once I was able to finally admit to myself that I am vulnerable to becoming defensive too quickly, It made life a bit easier. Most times, I can now distinguish whether or not the critique is valid and recognize when/if I’m taking it too personally.

Don’t be afraid to look inward. Looking outward first is probably the most fatal of the character flaws. Either way, here’s to change.

If you enjoyed this article, please recommend it by hitting the heart button. This allows more people to see it on medium. Thanks for making my day!

Follow Me!

The Vault

1 . 2 . 3 . 4 . 5

--

--

Eric Turner
100 Naked Words

Husband. Father. Friend. Social Worker. Life is messy. Come along for the ride! Also, check out Medium membership! https://medium.com/@eturn102/membership