“My skills include donut eating”

Elana Berger
Clear as Mud
Published in
2 min readMar 23, 2016

This spring break, I was travelling in the Pacific Northwest on a road trip from San Francisco to Portland. Much of our trip was spent travelling along the coast, through National and State parks and small towns, areas where data service was spotty and my connection to social media was limited. However, at the end of our trip in Portland, I found this interesting use of social media that caught my eye. We were at a popular Portland donut shop, Blue Star Donuts (https://www.facebook.com/BlueStarDonuts/), just the trendy, hipster place you would expect to find in Portland. The donuts were incredibly elaborate and indulgent and the employees were incredibly friendly and funny. After waiting on a sizeable line, I saw this sign right by the counter, which perfectly reflects the fun, hip, lighthearted vibe of this donut shop:

I thought this was clever and share-worthy for several reasons. One, it gave me something to read (and chuckle at) while waiting on line. And more notably, it gets customers thinking about sharing Blue Star on all sorts of social media outlets while the delicious donuts are fresh on their mind. Now, I personally probably would not share something like a donut on social media, but it turns out, Blue Star has a pretty significant social media presence and a loyal fan following. And while I’m sure this sign is by no means the sole reason for that (the donuts were pretty incredible), I got the sense that it may have helped.

My only critique of the sign is that it could probably use an update: I think replacing FourSquare with Snapchat would be a good decision, given the apparent demographics of Blue Star Donut fans.

--

--