Day 5: When You Write a Lot Because You Don’t Pay Attention

Renayle Fink
275,000 Words or Bust!
2 min readJun 9, 2018

Holy guacamole. I wrote 2,538 words Friday night.

The crazy thing is, I wrote so much because I am not good at paying attention sometimes.

I was doing a writing contest, and it is based on a prompt. I thought I had it. I was sure of it. So I pounded out 1,195 words of outline and first draft, only to go back and re-read the prompt. Well, I went in another direction. It’s no where near the prompt.

So what do I do with this? Save it. Finish it. Be on the look out for a place to send it to.

Photo by Japheth Mast on Unsplash

Anyways, I wrote another words for another prompt for the same contest. This one, I paid attention. I wrote 242 words for an outline and an extra 1,101 for the story itself for a total of 1,323 words for the contest. It also went kinda weird, but maybe I’ll share it whether I win or lose.

I finished my blog post, and it is up today. I wrote my email list out, which was another 97 words.

So, my total for today is 2,635 words today. Way more than what I did for Day 4. This brings my total to 5,405 words out of 275k. Yes! I hope I’m finding my groove and can be consistently writing.

I just now realized it’s after midnight. My eyes can’t stay open and my hands are cramping. But my mind is still going. I hope this is good momentum for me to write more and more each day.

But first, let me get some rest. Goodnight.

--

--

Renayle Fink
275,000 Words or Bust!

I help women become f*cking awesome writers. Sign up for weekly posts here: http://pentothepaper.com