Practice Makes Perfect

Charley Warady
3 Minute Bits
Published in
2 min readJan 11, 2018

Becoming a grandfather is not easy

Practice makes perfect

I’m going to be a grandfather soon. See my Medium post from yesterday to verify that ( I’m A Grandfather…Kinda…Almost ). I have wasted no time in preparing myself for this event. Unlike being a parent, I’m going to pay attention to my grandchild.

I started practicing this morning by trying to carry around our kitten, Groot, like a baby (pictured above). I’m hoping my grandchild isn’t born with claws like fish hooks. Groot didn’t want to be carried around like a baby. The scratches on my face should heal in a couple weeks.

I bounced my grandchild on my knee. Because my grandchild is still inside my daughter, I had to go to the store where she works, sit in a chair in the store, and bounce my daughter, who is busy creating my grandchild, and bounced them both on my knee. I’m hoping the baby will be lighter than my daughter. And appreciate it more. And be able to make it to the bathroom before she throws up.

Author’s mental depiction

I attempted to carry my daughter around like a baby, since the baby is still inside of her.

The doctor said I should be able to walk upright again in about a week.

I’m taking Carol out for ice cream today and to an arcade. She hates arcades, so that part will be a surprise; probably not as much of a surprise as being pushed into a pit of colorful plastic balls.

I am determined to be an excellent grandfather, and I’m going to practice until I become the real thing at the end of July.

Even if it kills me.

Please become a follower of “3 Minute Bits”….Thanks!!

--

--

Charley Warady
3 Minute Bits

A stand-up comedian and author making Stoicism fun. @Medium @Creative Cafe