Exercise #8 (of 30): List Your Excuses

Then… give them a 2-year life span.

--

I realize I have a secret conversation going on in my head. And it goes like this…

“My ______ is a mess anyway, so I think it’s ok to live with another mess here ……”

I have a few ‘cluttered-up areas’ in my life. If you look at my computer desktop – you’ll find files and folders all over the place… the entire wallpaper is almost blocked out by desktop icons. iPhotos – no organization at all. Apple Notes – so many folders, I stopped know what’s where.

And unknown to me, they’ve become excuses. to accept clutter in more areas in my life.

That’s how clutter perpetuates.

Today’s exercise is – list them, so that you are aware of every ‘clutter-zone’. But instead of attempting to clean them up immediately, give them a 2-year life-span.

That’s right. Simply determine to clean them up within 2-years. Today’s exercise is to simply acknowledge them, so that you don’t have any hidden excuse to let clutter live in some other part of your life / home / office / work.

And if you want – beside that list – you can also list the contrasting ‘clutter-free zones’ that I wrote about yesterday.

Here’s my list of Cluttered-Zones (to be eliminated in 2 years):

  • Computer Desktop [Immediate Action]
  • iPhone App List [Immediate Action]
  • Photo collection (it’s all over… iPhotos, Google Photos, Folders…
  • Notes (Apple Notes, Evernote and (paper) notebooks)
  • Tasks (in Asana, Trello, Wunderlist and on paper)
  • Kindle Libary
  • Contact Lists (Facebook, Google Contacts)
  • … more… (I’ll add to this later)

My Clutter-free Zones (non exhaustive):

  • Daily Planner
  • Desk
  • Wardrobe
  • Calendar
  • Walls (in the study)
  • iPad App List (app home screen)
  • Personal & Family Budget Tracker
  • … more… (I’ll add to this later)

--

--