Team Spotlight: Tessa

A mental health advocate and writer passionate about social issues

55 Minutes Team
55 Minutes
6 min readMar 28, 2022

--

In today’s spotlight, Tessa, the editor behind 55 Minutes’ publication, answers some questions from our team. Keep reading to learn more about the mind behind our blogs and stories!

Tessa, the editor of the 55 Minutes publication.

Q: What is your role in 55 Minutes?

A: I manage the 55 Minutes publication here on Medium! That entails setting a publication plan and calendar, ideating with Wendy to discuss blog topics, and working with the team to hone in on and bring their ideas to life.

Q: Can you share your background and what led you to work with the team?

A: My background is a mixed bag — I’m 100% a generalist. Formally, I have a Master’s in International Education Development and worked in the NGO space before joining Potato Productions, 55 Minutes’ parent company. But one thing I’ve always enjoyed is writing and bringing stories to life.

When Wendy reached out in mid-2020 with aspirations to start a blog, I was of course interested since I had already begun dabbling on Medium. And what’s kept me here is the wonderful team culture and spirit. It’s always a plus to work with folks who genuinely care about each other and who know how to work hard and play hard.

Q: As you don’t work with the team every day, what are some challenges you faced while working with the team?

A: Hmm, I think this is common everywhere, but pushed timelines and chasing people down for their pieces. I totally understand that writing is an extra task for the team and is not crucial for day-to-day operations though, so I’ve learned to be more lax and flexible with deadlines. At the end of the day, it’s not the end of the world if a planned article goes out two weeks later.

Q: When do you find it most meaningful when you do editing work with 55 Minutes?

A: I like to see the work I do as more than just editing and publishing stories. I think it’s more about helping people realize their potential and lean into something that might be uncomfortable.

I know writing is not something that the team necessarily enjoys, so if I’m able to help one person get over the fear of putting their voice and words out there and to help them feel even a bit more confident in their writing, then I’m happy. Hye Yoon has since given feedback that she’s enjoying the writing process more and Elaine was also excited to work on her first piece!

It’s about helping people realize their potential and that what they have to say matters. I’m just helping them say it.

Q: What do you appreciate about working with this team? What excites you about working with them?

A: So I’m really passionate about mental wellness and treating people as people first, and I think the 55 Minutes team really walks the walk in that regard. I love seeing the team camaraderie and the intentional check-ins at the beginning of the meetings that I’ve sat in.

It’s clear how much Wendy cares about the team and how the team is really a family. You can only do good work if you feel safe, rested, and supported. Working with people who have the same values as I do is very heartening.

Q: What else do you do outside of 55 Minutes?

A: At Potato, I work with a couple of other companies, such as Borderless360’s Inclusive Education Initiative which is looking to start an inclusive school with affirmative action towards refugees in Bangkok. Outside of Potato, I work on my own endeavor, MindTerra, which seeks to improve mental well-being and increase self-awareness.

Q: When not working, what helps you to relax? To be creative? To be a better person?

A: I enjoy doing yoga (I’m a certified yoga teacher!), going on long walks in nature, watching beautiful sunsets, and journaling for my own self-awareness. I also read a fair amount and I also learn languages in my spare time!

Tessa doing a headstand on a beach in Phuket, Thailand.

Q: We all know that you constantly publish articles on your blog. Tell us when you are the most creative to come up with new topics and any productive to write?

A: It’s funny, but one source of inspiration is things that make me angry and mad are my source of inspiration. A social justice thing that bugs me? I write. Someone did something that made me second-guess? I write. Something happened that I can’t quite process? I write.

I don’t have specific times that I write — I’m very spontaneous that way. I just get the urge and then start banging out things on my keyboard. I will say though, that the more reflective pieces require journaling to process before taking the writing to the laptop. There’s something more freeing about pen and paper as opposed to a keyboard.

Photo of Tessa journaling while waiting for the bus.

Q: What is the best piece you have ever written? Why?

A: Ooh, good question. “Best” is subjective because what does “best” mean? My piece on White English teachers in Asia probably got the most attention on Medium and I was excited to get a piece on ethical tourism into a real publication outside of Medium!

Q: Do you have any advice on the best methods for those who want to improve their writing and communicate with others through writing?

A: Writing is a hard craft! I still have so much to learn. All I can say is — keep doing it. Keep experimenting, trying new things, putting yourself out there.

And while you do, give yourself grace and kindness. You can’t become amazing at something overnight. It’s also about mindset — if you adopt a mindset of having fun with the process, it’s going to be more enjoyable than if you’re dreading it, for example.

Q: We know you love to travel around the world. What’s your favorite travel destination yet? Where do you recommend everyone visit in their lifetime?

A: Ah, travel. See, the thing about travel is that it depends on the trip experience. The location is one thing, but the people you go with and the experience you get make or break it. I had a blast on my trip to Iceland when two friends and I flew a low-cost and rented a camper van for the week and just roughed it through an Icelandic winter. Hitchhiking, falling through ice sheets, and hiding in laundry rooms for warmth were involved.

Tessa (left) with her friends on top of their camper van on a Spring Break trip to Iceland in 2018.

I don’t have a destination that I recommend everyone visit, but I will say — I recommend everyone do a trip that gets them out of their comfort zone and scares them a little bit. You learn so much just by traveling — just get out there!

Q: What is next for you? What are you working on improving (yourself)?

A: Gosh, I wish I knew. *Cues existential crisis* I think we always have this notion that we have to be thinking ahead and have everything figured out. But I recently heard this idea of just flowing like water. Water just flows. It’s so simple, and this notion really resonated with me.

Life is easy, but we make it difficult. So I’m choosing to trust in the process, trust in the universe, and flow like water to my next thing. And along the way, I’m working on becoming very self-aware, identifying my emotions, treating others with kindness, showing up with compassion, and living out my core values of integrity, authenticity, and love.

Wow, what a wonderful note to end on. Outside of work, you can find Tessa learning languages, doing yoga, and sharing memes. She also enjoys finding new cute cafes and going on sunset strolls.

--

--

55 Minutes Team
55 Minutes

55 Minutes is a user experience design studio creating innovative solutions by understanding people and using a human-centered approach https://www.55mins.com/