How it Feels to Fail a Professional Licensing Exam

Disappointment doesn’t even cut it

Luke Rowley
60-Year Career

--

Photo by Verne Ho on Unsplash

After spending over $1,000 on study materials and test fees, over 120 hours of preparation, and a lot of wondering and waiting, I finally have the results of my attempt of the Principles and Practice of Engineering exam.

I failed.

I’m frustrated with the national administering council for making such a difficult test. Let alone the fact that a large portion of what’s on the test I will never use in my entire engineering career.

It’s frustrating when a purely academic gauge of your intelligence is entirely incapable of detecting good engineering judgment. The exam doesn’t test your skills as an engineer; it tests your abilities as a test taker.

It’s more about solving the problem of “which answer choice is a trick and which isn’t” rather than “how can I be a good engineer?”

Which is ultra frustrating to someone who just wants a license, even though I understand you have to have some regulations in place for who does and doesn’t get to be a Professional Engineer.

I’m even frustrated for my friends who took it with me, none of which passed the exam.

--

--

Luke Rowley
60-Year Career

Goal Engineer. Get my free 5-day email course to learn my 4–4–4 goal-setting system so you can stick to your goals all year long: https://bit.ly/3f8bhyR