10 Free Hacks for Your Business in 2024

Not gonna lie, I’m a big free rider.

3 Minute Blog
4 min readFeb 13, 2024
Photo by William White on Unsplash

Free lunch does exist somehow.

Here are 10 things on the house that help boost my productive capacity. Without further ado let’s go:

1) Spreadsheet

Photo by Mika Baumeister on Unsplash

Spreadsheet is everything. Time blocking, progress tracking, daily todo, project checklist, note taking, mind map, CRM, marketing calendar, you name it…

When I start something new, I launch my Google Sheet. When I learn something new, Google Sheet. When I’m in a discussion, Google Sheet.

When I record my guitar practice progress, I use Apple Numbers. For the sake of setting the work and hobby boundary.

I’m not a big fan of fancy apps. Sheet or any kind of excel alike will do (all) the job. Simple but customisable. Free yet powerful.

2) Complimentary Notebooks

Photo by Mike Tinnion on Unsplash

Hand writting is so underrated.

A simple notebook may only cost $1.

But I take this further.

Those complimentary notebooks from banks, insurance company, or your friendly business partner are at no cost (and designed beautifully).

Use them on your projects. Draw on it relentlessly.

Dear reader, I bet your intelligence is above average and you need to deal with more complex problems in your daily life.

You want to do it more effectively. When hands on the keyboard and mouse does not work, grab a pen and paper.

3) Blogging

Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

No jokes, no Ads here.

Good writing definitely help you succeed in all career fields.

A forest of blogging platform out there. Pick a niche and start running.

(I’m still learning to express myself clearly and more “Mediumly”)

4) Twitter (now X)

Photo by Souvik Banerjee on Unsplash

Learn to sum up ideas, make sound bites, especially you have to pitch in your daily business.

5) Calendar (physical)

Photo by Eric Rothermel on Unsplash

Again, gratis from corporate friends, or you can just make some printouts. A physical calendar gives you a bird eye view of the month / year. Crossing out each day lapsed will give you a sense of fulfillment and presence.

6) Unused phone

Photo by Rii Dutta on Unsplash

Bought a new phone? Your old buddy can turn into a timer, music player, reading, photo library, separate screen.

I use mine as my guitar learning companion: metronome, tuner, voice memos. Also a productivity ambience player when I need focus on my work.

7) YouTube

Photo by Christian Wiediger on Unsplash

It appears to me that skills from all disciplines can be learned from the gigantic Youtube community.

8) Free books from second hand market or exchange and library

Photo by Florencia Viadana on Unsplash

Books can be costly but the knowledge sphere can also be moulded from reading second hand or free book exchange corner, or taking a visit to the library.

9) A Second Screen

Photo by Lee Campbell on Unsplash

If you got an unused screen in your garage, don’t leave it with dust. They’re the icing on the cake for good productivity, especially for web design preview, progress table, even a timer.

10) Bank account or payment apps

Photo by Jonathan Cooper on Unsplash

Open free bank accounts for money demarcation. It’s a budgeting skill that keeps saving my butt. Apps that can store your precious income will do. More on this skill later.

Hope You Enjoy the Read

Yeah yeah yeah, you might argue some of the items have underlying cost e.g. personal data or phone activity tracking or Ads. Well, I refer to zero price here.

If you enjoy this blog, why not consider smashing that “Follow” button for more? Hope to see you again!

(The blog represents my personal opinions and should not be considered superior to professional advice.)

--

--

3 Minute Blog

Owns a drinkware supply company. Talks about international e-commerce and eastern philosophy.