Initial Impressions of Stanford’s Code In Place ‘23 Week 1 — CS106A

Adam
5 min readMay 7, 2023

I got accepted into Stanford’s Code In Place, which I talked about in an earlier written blog, yet this week I will be diving into my experience through the first week of Code In Place, which I will refer to as CIP going forward, so buckle up!

Photo by Emmanuel Ikwuegbu on Unsplash

Getting to interact with the mentor, AKA the Section Leader.

Online learning is one of the best things in the most recent decade, and the la crème de la crème of it as a whole is CIP. Because you are not only learning from the best engineering department on the planet, but you are also learning with people who have the same passion as you are and a mentor who cares about your success. On that note, I will talk about my mentor first.

Photo by Desola Lanre-Ologun on Unsplash

I got assigned a mentor for my first-week meeting, and not only is he a very cool guy, but he is a recent graduate of computer science, which is great because I have many questions regarding computer science as a computer science student myself. Also, he works in one of the FAANG companies, so it was nice to hear firsthand what working there looks like since I want to be a part of Apple or SpaceX at some…

--

--