Poetry

Lost Space

A poem

Amy Rosie
2 min readFeb 6, 2022
Image by Author [The view outside my hostel window. Saved as monochrome for Instagram effect, can’t find the original :P]

the benches are empty and broken

hiding out there in the open

reminiscing the bygone days

full of chatter and cheer

Echoes of tears and bottles of beer

branches above look down in pity

witnesses to tales both euphoric and nitty

they shed tears of leaves in pain

Years of lending ears, what did they gain?

As I wandered taking in the sights with a sigh

It seemed to me they were all saying goodbye

I stood still as the place faded into a void

the lost haven of memories shrunk into a polaroid.

The picture above is a part of my college campus which used to be a chilling hub for generations of students. It is right in front of the hostels and on the way to the academic blocks. We all used to relax on these benches and the tiled floors during mornings and midnights alike.

Last December during Christmas break, I went back for some paperwork and walked along the deserted streets of the campus. The whole university is going to get renovated after the pandemic break and this area is going to be completely altered.

The memories came rushing in and I realized that was the last time I was going to see my college as I would remember.

It felt awkward seeing a place that used to bustle with activities 24/7, dead silent. Not being dramatic, but I felt like I lost something in this place that I’ll never get back.

A lost space.

Before you go, please check out this absolute corker of a poem by Barbara Mac. This poem laden with beautiful imagery made me fall in love with the shade of mauve a little bit more.

Love.

--

--

Amy Rosie

Moonchild. Agoraphobic. Bisexual. Works on books and caffeine. English honours and Literature major.