Legend

I did not expect this collection of stories to include so many thoughts inspired by the writings of others, but like Contagious, Ideas and Greatness, this moment of clarity was fueled by the completion of another excellent audiobook: The Alchemist.

Ben McDougal
2 min readMay 5, 2015
The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

As I enjoyed doing for Good to Great, I tracked my favorite moments from The Alchemist in a short string of Tweets that spanned two months and were connected by #TheAlchemist.

I’ve learned that if you truly want to absorb knowledge from audiobooks, you must be disciplined enough to stop the onslaught of insight and take a moment to reflect on what strikes you as beautiful. After experimenting with various methods of knowledge absorption from audiobooks, I like this approach of stringing together a collection of meaningful Tweets. This forces you to really polish your takeaways down to 140 characters, provides a personalize way of organizing your favorite thoughts and also allows me to share little knowledge grenades with others.

For my latest audiobook adventure, my entire Twitter string can be found HERE, but my final Tweet using #TheAlchemist may be my personal favorite. Unlike most of the others, this short thought was not a quote from the author. Instead, I took a moment to reflect on my overall conclusion...

Unlike the other non-fiction audiobooks I’ve enjoyed up to now, The Alchemist was a fictional novel. The beauty of this novel however, was that it truly served as a parable driven by deeper meaning.

I really enjoying listening to this audiobook as I tried to relax. Whether on a long flight or just before dozing off to sleep, this story of a Shepard boy who went on a journey to discover his personal legend and to realize his dreams, had a wonderful way of empowering me at key moments in my own life.

As I bring this to a close, I feel obligated to share where I’m at in my own journey towards my personal legend.

I believe it’s a result of hard work and good timing, but the people in my life have blessed me with a unique opportunity to live my dream.

This has transformed me into an innovative optimist that energetically thrives on the adventures in life and finds true meaning in the chance to accelerate others.

There is more to be done as I continue to realize my own personal legends in life, but I’m inspired by an unfinished mission to change the world.

May the best your todays, be the worst of your tomorrows.

--

--