My Top 5 Cocktails From The First Year of Let’s Drink About It

Benjamin Ahr Harrison
4 min readMar 12, 2015

The podcast I co-host with my buddy Chris Bowman, Let’s Drink About It, attempts to come up with the perfect cocktail pairing for every possible event you might experience in your life. We have amazing guests including comedians, musicians and anyone else we think is charming. Neither of us has any expertise in cocktails, but we’re learning as we go!

Let’s Drink About It started one year ago today, so I thought I’d commemorate that by going through the 51 episodes we’ve put up in that time and picking out some of my favorite drinks we’ve done on the show.

If you like what you see, subscribe to us on iTunes! You’ll love it!

5. Eureka Punch

From episode 45: On one of our favorite episodes we were joined by comedian Sabrina Jalees. I had bought a couple pairs of pants that actually fit, which had me euphoric because most pants don’t. This drink took that euphoria to another level, and now it is a key sacrament in the religious ceremonies I perform in honor of these pants.

2 oz Amber Rum
1 oz fresh lemon juice
.75 oz green chartreuse
1 oz honey syrup
1 dash Angostura bitters
2 oz ginger ale

Combine rum, juice, Chartreuse, honey syrup, and bitters in a cocktail shaker with ice; shake until chilled. Strain into a collins glass filled with ice cubes and top with ginger ale; garnish with a lemon wedge and a sprig of mint.

4. Lady Sage

From Episode 49: I’m a sucker for a nice herbal drink, and when Chris went to Joshua Tree, it was very clear to me that his drink pairing would need some sage in it. On his trip, Chris wound up seeing some public sex going on just off the side of the road. We think this drink is sexy enough for both events.

2 oz Gin
2 fresh sage leaves
.75 oz fresh lemon juice
.75 oz simple syrup
1 fresh egg white

In a shaker, gently muddle the sage and lemon juice. Add the remaining ingredients, dry shake, and then shake with ice until well chilled. Strain into a chilled glass and garnish with a sage leaf.

3. Planter’s Punch

From Episode 48: As it turns out, I have a massive soft spot for tiki drinks, and this is one of my favorites. If I ever have a bunch of money to burn it will go toward making myself a tiki bar. Then if there’s any left over I’ll probably get dental insurance and start planning for my retirement. First thing’s first.

3 oz dark rum (preferably of Jamaican extraction)
1 oz lime juice
.5 oz lemon juice
.5 oz grenadine
.25 oz simple syrup

Stir ingredients in a glass with ice until well chilled, then strain over crushed ice into a collins glass. Garnish with lime and lemon wheels.

2. Angostura Fizz

From Episode 46: One of our favorite repeat guests is the talented filmmaker Adam Pranica, for this episode he was fresh off watching his beloved Greenbay Packers narrowly avoid the hassle of going to the superbowl. It shouldn’t have happened, & he drank a cocktail that shouldn’t work. But it does.

1 oz Angostura Bitters
1 oz Lime Juice
.25 oz Simple Syrup
.25 oz Grenadine
.5 oz Cream
1 Egg White
Seltzer Water

First dry shake, then shake with ice. Double strain into a cocktail coupe. Top off with Seltzer.

1. The Working Man

From Episode 43: This drink is a riff on the Industry Sour that we found on Reddit. Our guest Shit Food Blogger let me have a sip of this cocktail, and now I have a fictional venerial disease. I guess the alcohol wasn’t enough to kill off fake pathogens.

1 oz Amber rum
1 oz allspice dram
1 oz velvet falernum
1 oz lime juice

Shake with ice and strain into a chilled cocktail glass. Garnish with a lime twist.

Looking back at these drinks, they’re all from very recent episodes. That’s partly because we’ve gotten better over the course of the year, and partly because I didn’t want to repeat drinks from my last Medium article. But hopefully if you enjoyed this, you’ll give the show a listen. We’re really enjoying doing it, especially because our listeners have been so supportive and kind.

Cheers!

--

--

Benjamin Ahr Harrison

Director of @ShootTheMoonDoc and many other things. I co-host the podcasts The Greatest Generation and @drinkaboutit.