A Surrender Prayer During Divorce

Bernard Michaels
2 min readJan 31, 2024

--

In the days after moving ahead with a divorce, I prayed in church. I asked for God’s help to surrender any impediment that would make the divorce process more difficult and hurtful. I asked for his grace to surrender selfishness, desires for superficially making things right, and trying to save face in any ways that weren’t meaningful to gaining freedom and healing.

This is the prayer that God gave me. The words poured forth and came through my fingers. I simply took dictation.

If you are similarly facing the opportunity to finally break free from an abusive relationship, may these petitions of surrender be a daily comfort to you as they have been to me.

A Surrender Prayer During Divorce

I surrender . . .

My ego

My expectations of how things will be

Needing to prove that I’m right

Attempts to seek validation

The need to feel vindicated

Telling everyone my side of the story

The history of what I’ve tried to do

My declaration of having loved her all along

My compulsion to share the details of everything I’m thinking or feeling

My impatience and anger

Allowing myself to become easily frustrated

Internalizing things that I can’t own or that can never be changed

Fearing the uncertain

Being uncomfortable with unease

Worrying about everything

Never protecting myself to sacrifice for someone else

Trying to anticipate every possible scenario

Trying to manage every process and person

Taking responsibility for others’ feelings

My desire for efficiency and simplicity

Expecting everything to make sense

Needing for everything to make sense

Trying to fill silence

Pointing out when something has already been said

Taking things personally that I know aren’t true

Needing to respond to claims and accusations that will never matter

Trying to refute arguments being said just to be saying something

Selfishness

Thinking that possessing any one thing will significantly impact my life

Any moment where I’m not being courteous

Anything that stands in the way of being kind and gracious

Amen.

If you are in a similar situation, I’m publishing content along my journey to healing as I make progress. Subscribe to get an email as I share new articles.

--

--

Bernard Michaels

An ex-husband who is healing through the impacts of emotional and verbal abuse, looking ahead to finding who he is again.