Healing Can Be Super Fun

Bernard Michaels
2 min readMay 25, 2024

--

Big admission here. And vulnerability.

I was last week’s year’s old when I learned what sex really is. Sex as fun, as making love, as surrendering the meta level where I need to worry about what could go wrong so that I could be fully present in the moment and the experience to participate in creating incredible possibilities in closeness.

Yes, I learned all that last week.

Why, all these decades into my life, did I just discover these things?

Because it was the first time, after some initial trial and learning with the airplane lady, that we made love with nobody upstairs or on either side of the room. Instead, we were in a house, on vacation, with the full roam of the place, and no chance of anyone listening in.

For the two of us, that opened up . . . Movement. Loudness. Time. Experimentation. Newness. Dim lighting. Reflection. Intensity. Pauses. Randomness. Mornings. Late at nights. Feeling all clean. Feeling messy. Feeling however we were.

It opened up so many things. So. Many. Things.

And right now, I don’t care that I should have learned this decades ago.

I know it now. I know the amazingness of sex that I’d only read about or imagined is real.

Who knew? I didn’t. But now I do.

If you are (or have been) in an abusive relationship, particularly for men who have been emotionally and verbally abused, I’m publishing content along my journey to healing as I progress. Subscribe to get an email as I share new articles. Multiple claps for this article are another great way to show your support . . . thanks!

--

--

Bernard Michaels

An ex-husband who is healing through the impacts of emotional and verbal abuse, looking ahead to finding who he is again.