My Top Marketing Memes of 2023

Cav Lemasters
3 min readJan 4, 2024

--

Ultimately, the appeal of marketing or business-related memes may vary from person to person, but they can be a fun and enjoyable part of the professional experience for many people.

They provide a sense of relatability through shared experiences, a sense of community through sharing between friends, and occasionally education through roasting bad practices.

Every year, I stash the best marketing memes I find into a private Discord server — revisiting these can help me get through my day and provide a bit of levity in an otherwise serious work environment. Here are the best of the best from my collection in 2023 (some may not have been made in 2023, but that is when I stumbled across them).

I have no ownership of the memes included below, just found them through a variety of channels (mostly Reddit, Twitter, or LinkedIn).

The definition of insanity is…

Spongebob holding a piece of paper saying “We have always done it this way” and then burning it.

Technology can be tough, a boss can be tougher

Boss: Can you post this PDF to our instagram? Marketer: This? What?

If you’re reading this… I am sorry.

The horror of accidentally liking your ex’s photo from a branded account, using the shocked face of Joe Rogan ringside for UFC.

*Laughs in Cabernet Sauvignon*

Marketers at 5:01pm on a Friday, Elon Musk holding a glass of wine.

(In an interview) So what did you do at your last job?

A wrestler reading a really, really long piece of paper. One person marketers reading their job description.

Did anyone else’s stomach just drop through the floor?

The scariest things in ascending order, the dark, clowns, sharks, serial killers, death, and “Did you mean to post that?”

Are you okay? *laughs* Sure.

Therapist: What’s going on in your mind? Marketer: It’s like an internet browser, 17 tabs open, 4 frozen, and I don’t know where the music is coming from.

Growth is knowing how to avoid silly meetings

The three stages of career development. 1. I can’t wait to be important enough for meetings. 2. I am so important being in these meetings. 3. I will do anything legal and several not to avoid this meeting.

Taxation is theft.

It’s called Gross Pay because it’s disgusting to see what you could’ve made.

You have $52.47 for advertising this product launch.

What a budgeting meeting looks like with finance. In terms of money, we have no money.

Reality can be such a slap to the face

College graduates entering the marketing industry, just to find out employers want 8–10 years experience.

At this point, I could be an Ambassador for Kleenex.

POV you work in marketing. And I reckon I cry at least 4 times a week.

I’M MAKIN CAWFEE HERE *My best New York accent*

How to trap a marketer, put a cup of coffee in your trap

He’s not wrong

A tweet that says Googling symptoms just tells you which diseases have the best SEO. He isn’t wrong.

Thanks for reading!

Whether these brought tears of joy to your eyes or were super cringe, I hope they at least brightened your day a little bit.

I also write a Top Programming Memes for 2023 here on Medium if you’re interested.

If you’d like to support my work, consider buying me a coffee — or if there were any you think I missed, tweet me, or send a message!

--

--