My Top Programming Memes of 2023

Cav Lemasters
3 min readJan 4, 2024

--

Ultimately, the appeal of programming memes may vary from person to person, but they can be a fun and enjoyable part of the programming experience for many people.

They provide a sense of relatability through shared experiences, a sense of community through sharing between friends, and occasionally education through roasting bad practices.

Every year, I stash the best programming memes I find into a private Discord server — revisiting these can help me get through my day and provide a bit of levity in an otherwise serious work environment. Here are the best of the best from my collection in 2023 (some may not have been made in 2023, but that is when I stumbled across them).

I have no ownership of the memes included below, just found them through a variety of channels (mostly Reddit and Twitter, or other programming nerds).

I’m convinced Regex is an alien language from the future, and no one truly understands it

Woman screaming “Why can’t you just be normal?” and the kid screaming gibberish regex back at her with a wild look on his face

Finally… something we can ALL agree on!

A venn diagram of multiple generations of workers, and in the center as the thing they all have in common is “This meeting could’ve been an email”

Instead of closing Vim, I just turn off my computer

A man enters an escape room to see a skeleton at a desk. He looks at what the skeleton was doing an a laptop is open to Vim.

It’s on the internet, it HAS to be trustworthy… right?

A screenshot from Flash of him talking to a hooded stranger. The text says a random developer on stack overflow posting code, do you trust me? And flash responds “with every cell of my body”

LinkedIn is such a tease

A play on the common LinkedIn notification “You appeared in 76 searches this week” and the boy says “Whoa! This is worthless.”

Remember, The Cloud doesn’t exist, it’s just someone else’s computer!

The server has crashed… where is the back up? On the server.

Who else collects Chrome tabs like they’re Pokemon?

Don’t touch those, they’re my emotional support Chrome Tabs. Yes, all 27 of them.

Debate your mom, it goes Linux > MacOS > Windows

When you have to use Windows at work, “I’m limited by the technology of my time”

Don’t tell the code word near your Amazon Alexa!

A funny job posting about a Killswitch Engineer who’s job is to stand by the server all day ready to unplug and/or throw a bucket of water on them if GPT turns on humanity.

I like it but…

Ryan Howard grabbing his face in shock as someone asks “Can you make the logo bigger?”

Did you at least pay for extra bacon?

Employees: We want to feel loved and appreciated. Management: Say no more *throws a pizza party*

What kind of developer are you?

Camels in a case, Pascal in a case, or snakes in a case?

The AI Revolution has begun!

I stepped away from my computer for a moment. When I returned it was building something, plus an image of a popular pipes windows screensaver.

Technically, they are pointers.

Man 1: I suck at this game, can you give me a few pointers? Man 2: 0x3A282131, 0x6339392C.

Network Security is a big deal!

Thanks for reading!

Whether these brought tears of joy to your eyes or were super cringe, I hope they at least brightened your day a little bit.

I also wrote a Top Marketing Memes of 2023 here on Medium if you are interested.

If you’d like to support my work, consider buying me a coffee — or if there were any you think I missed, tweet me, or send a message!

--

--