Nepal Travel Journal : Day 3 The First Day of Poon Hill Trekking

어흥 awheung
3 min readOct 30, 2018

Tuesday September 25, 2018

(2hrs by a jeep from Harry Guest House to Birethani)

  • Departure: Birethani (1025m)
  • Arrival: Ulleri (1960m)
  • Time: 4hrs
Poon Hill Trekking © Photographed by Seonhye

It was a perfect day to go trekking. The sky was clear blue, and sun was brightly shining. I took a jeep to Birethani and started to go trekking. On the way to Birethani, I saw a lot of people constructing the road. Thanks to the benefit of civilization, I reached the TIMS check post by car very conveniently, but on the flip side, it was such a shame that we were destroying our precious nature that we should conserve only for our need for convenience. I reflected on myself about taking an easy way instead of walking because I didn’t have enough time.

Poon Hill Trekking © Photographed by Seonhye

While I had some self-criticism, I arrived at Birethani. I heard the route to Ulleri was grueling due to a lot of stairs. I’m good at going up rather than going down a mountain, so going up stairs didn’t matter. However, the stairs’ trail was a little bit longer than I expected. I needed some time to be used to stair-climbing. At the beginning, my heart raced, and my leg muscles strained. By the time I reached he middle of the trail, my body was perfectly accustomed to stairs and enjoyed its hard training.

Poon Hill Trekking © Photographed by Seonhye
Poon Hill Trekking © Photographed by Seonhye

I arrived at Ulleri, the first destination of the trek, unpacked my bag, took a hot shower, and had early dinner seeing the beautiful sunset.

Poon Hill Trekking © Photographed by Seonhye
Poon Hill Trekking © Photographed by Seonhye
Poon Hill Trekking © Photographed by Seonhye

--

--

어흥 awheung

Story Translator 문화 전달자, UX Designer 유엑스 디자이너