Bruce Kulick (Former KISS Guitarist) interview

Jakam Kourasanis
5 min readJul 24, 2015

--

Bruce live at Allans Music in Adelaide. Photo by Jakam Kourasanis

In the rock world, Bruce Kulick needs no introduction. The fiery guitar god helped reinvigorate KISS in the 80's after disco and pop rock albums. Even without having donned makeup, Bruce has a cult following all of his own, and KISS fans of all ages flock to see him in person when he does a guitar clinic, appearance or concert. I met Bruce at Allan’s Billy Hyde in Adelaide after a guitar clinic. While at the guitar clinic, during the Q&A part of the session, I asked him, “If you joined KISS during the makeup stage, what would your persona be, and would you have still joined if you had to wear the makeup?” He replied with “Yeah, I suppose I would probably be the dog.” Later I learned that he gets asked this a lot, and that is usual response. I was a bit star struck meeting someone who helped to form a part of my life’s soundtrack, but he was the coolest guy.

I asked him if I could interview him and, even though I was expecting a no, he told me to email him. After a couple of days I took him up on the offer. As an aside, you can read my review/story of the masterclass here: https://medium.com/@JakamKourasanis/bruce-kulick-masterclass-e011b25e33ca.

I had a limit set of ten questions, which was hard because I wanted to ask about Eric Carr’s Rockheads cartoons, but I also asked the fans on the forums what they wanted to know. They replied with some great questions, and some not so great ones too. I truly hope you enjoy the interview, and thank you again, Bruce.

Bruce during KISS’ Crazy Nights photo sessions circa 1987. Photo supplied by Bruce Kulick.
  1. How did you get into music and guitars? (i.e. influences, how you learned, first guitar etc.)

The Beatles on Ed Sullivan was my start of my fascination with guitars and music. The British invasion of bands like The Who, Cream, Led Zeppelin, and Jimi Hendrix changed my world. It was never ending, and all those bands are still HUGE!

BK & Vince Contarino live. Vince is a close friend of my families and I did a review of a Zep Boys show here: https://medium.com/@JakamKourasanis/zep-boys-barmera-6-2-15-7d49d9aea6ce

2. You are most well known for your work with KISS. What’s your favourite KISS song to play?

There are many tunes from the KISS years I enjoy. From UNHOLY to FOREVER, to CRAZY NIGHTS to TEARS ARE FALLING. Even some of the classics are fun, [such as] PARASITE and DEUCE. I really love GOD GAVE ROCK AND ROLL TO YOU.

Bruce with Sisters Doll drummer Lipz/Bryce Mileto, an interview with him can be found here: https://medium.com/@JakamKourasanis/lipz-sisters-doll-interview-403a7419ae7d Photo by TB Photography

3. Of all the gigs and recordings you’ve done throughout your storied career, are there any that stand out as particular favourites or as those that you’re most proud of?

I have to admit that REVENGE, from KISS, was a huge accomplishment for me. I also love Billy Squier’s Tale Of The Tape, and my most recent solo disc, 2010's BK3, is awesome. The current KKB disc, Got to Get Back, is very groovy too!

Bruce in the current day, guitar freaks notice that Bruce is still playing ESP guitars, and in some cases LTD’s, Fenders and Gibsons. Photo supplied by BK.

4. How would your younger self feel about starting your career in the present day? Would you trade that for the time you actually started out?

I am happy that I experienced the ‘60s, etc. The music that both culturally and creatively became prevalent then was a joy to see explode.

BK & Vince live, other band members unknown. Vince is Adelaides number one vocalist and has been in many bands including the Mega Boys, Party Boys and most famously, Zep Boys.

5. What are your plans for new releases?

I will work on new songs for another solo disc sometime in the near future.

6. Do you still have any old stage clothes?

I do… not much. I sometimes have found items that were sold in the KISS auction from years ago, and I get them back to my collection. “I collect me” is what I like to say!

Soundcheckin’ Bridgeway Hotel in Adelaide. Photo by TB Photography.

7. What was your feeling of the omission of both you and Eric Carr when KISS got inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame?

I still felt very honoured that KISS was getting the honour, and I know Gene and Paul were very clear with the press that all the KISS players should be in the HOF. The Hall people didn’t agree, and hence the fighting and controversy. No matter, my fans know my contribution to KISS.

Sisters Doll manager Peter Hoffman and the band with BK

8. Your Aussie backing bands have featured names such as Vince Contarino (Zep Boys), Travis Dragani (White Lion) and Sisters Doll. Do you have any memorable experiences in your time working with these musicians?

All of them, in different ways I totally enjoyed. Vince is a super pro intense front man, Travis a monster drummer, and Sisters Doll have super potential. All three brothers play great, and have the right attitude to make it in the music world.

Bruce + Sisters Doll, killing the Bridgeway, photo by TB Photography.

9. You were pretty important in Michael Bolton’s career (when he was performing rock music). What do you think of his change of genres?

He was smart do venture out and write songs that made him a huge star. Michael has always been a driven artist and I respected his hard work. It was no surprise to me for him to become huge, and he is still a very popular artist. We reconnected recently and it was like the old Blackjack days! Laughs and good times.

10. Do you have any advice for younger musicians, particularly guitarists?

I think the more versatile you are the better. I hear young players at the local music stores, and mostly they like to play fast, without any feeling. I do hear good players too, but I really feel that it’s walk before you run. And write songs! That’s the ticket.

Bruce and I. Allans Billy Hyde in Adelaide 2o15. The day after the infamous Bridgeway show.

JK: Thanks, Bruce. You rock! You’re a total legend, mate!

BK: Thanks.

Edited by Casey Newbold-Kerr. Text Copyright Jakam Kourasanis 2015

--

--

Jakam Kourasanis

Eighteen year old independent music writer from regional South Australia!