My 2016 Top 5 in Music

Jeff Williams
6 min readDec 26, 2016

--

Artists gave us gems in 2016. These lists are my personal favorites. I am no music critic, however, I know what I like. I also welcome debate.

In fact I challenge you to create your own lists!

I will highlight the following:

  1. R&B/ Pop Albums
  2. Hip Hop Albums
  3. Favorite Tracks

Before I get started, I wanted to highlight my favorite artist of 2016. Brodie looked out for the culture all year, and he had the best verse of the year. Top verse no debating: Ultra Light Beam

Chance the Rapper

Alright, now check me out:

Top 5 R&B and Pop Albums

5. Her Her Vol.1

There was much mystery about the woman behind the shadow. I think we may have got confirmation on who she is, but that really does not matter. She killed it. I can work, research, relax, and create to this music. It could pass as a date night playlist, too. Shout out to Her.

Favorite Tracks: Facts, Jungle, Focus, Lose It

4. Bruno Mars 24K

Bruno Mars makes really good music.

Favorite Tracks: All of them. lol

3. Rihanna Anti

Rihanna brought the fellas to the table with this album. What I liked most about this LP was the authenticity. It was savage. Travis Scott wore off on her. It was gritty and candid. For the first time, her project was from Rihanna about Rihanna. She did what she wanted, while serving the establishment, naysayers and music critiques a big middle finger, opposite the one that holds her blunt.

Favorite Tracks: Consideration, Yeah I Said It, Sex With Me, Woo

2. Solange A Seat at The Table

Solange’s music finally caught up with her fashion. This album was so important and on time. Black women(and men) alike faced many challenges in 2016, and this album felt therapeutic.

Every movement has a soundtrack. Solange gets credit for a few featured tracks on the Black Lives Matter/Black Self Love playlist.

Favorite Tracks: Cranes in the Sky, Mad, F.U.B.U., Weary

  1. Frank Ocean Blonde

Frank Ocean came back in 2016. The problem with waiting years to hear back from our people is that the hype often will supercede the production.

At first listen, the hype and anticipation of this album surely bested the production.

But then you start listening…

And listening a little closer…

And listening again…

And you are reminded why Frank Ocean is a legend in the making. His music withstands the test of the time. No one in this world makes acceptance, nostalgia, loss, and love sound so beautiful.

Favorite Tracks: Pink + White, Ivy, Nikes, Nights, Solo/Solo(Reprise)

Rap Albums

5. Drake Views

I admit it, I admit it: I expected more from Drake. But, after the smoke, hate and hype cleared, I realized he gave us a strong album. We got a little bit of everything we like about Drizzy(Weston Road Flows) and a little bit of what we don’t rock with from Aubrey. Interesting enough, the part we hate still makes us dance a lil’ bit(Controlla).

Favorite Tracks: Still Here, Hype, Child’s Play, Fire & Desire

4. J. Cole 4 Your Eyez Only

I love concept albums. I love Pac. Cole made a concept album with hints of Pac all through it. I listen to this album, and it makes me smile. I listen, and then I go play Me Against the World.

Also, 4 Your Eyez Only and Immortals may be his best lyrical performances ever.

I rock with you for this Cole.

Favorite Tracks: Immortals, Deja Vu, Immortal, Change, 4 Your Eyez Only

3. Chance Chance 3 Coloring Book

Chance snapped. He’s the people’s champ. He gets it. I hinted at this in my post on the Black Millennial Dilemma Series Pt. 1.

He’s on his way to becoming legendary. This album had content, purpose, bars, perfect features, and gospel melodies. God is good.

Favorite Tracks: All We Got, Blessings 1, Blessings 2, How Great, Juke Jam, No Problem

2. Kanye West The Life Of Pablo

Kanye gave us a Kanye compilation album. We got old Kanye and new Kanye. A little bit of every previous Kanye album appeared on this one. It didn’t flow after the gospel opening, but I excused that. Production was A-1. The features were epic.

There were better projects rap wise, but not many of them get more spins. Kanye is a magician, a broker of flawless arrangements if you will. He puts uncommon pieces together for a beautiful full picture.

Also, Father Stretch My Hands Pt. 1 is 1) too short and 2) easily one of my top 5 favorite Ye tracks of all time.

Favorite Tracks: Ultra Light Beam, Father Stretch My Hands Pt. 1, Feedback, HIghlights, Real Friends

  1. Travis Scott Birds In The Trap Sing McKnight

I know. I know. I know. This is a bold #1 pick. You may debate whether or not it was the best. In hindsight, it probably was not the best. But don’t sleep. This album is awesome, and I certainly have an argument for why it should be the #1 rap album.

Yes, it may lack pertinent content, but he surely produced an authentic view of his personal lifestyle narrative. His execution was flawless.

Authentic. Witty bars. Amazing production. Great features. Incredible hooks. Late night music.

Travis Scott is unorthodox. He pushes the boundaries of hip hop. He rebels against the status quo in hooks and the makeup of verses. It’s a beautiful mess on Birds.

I liked this one better than that cage demonic thing lol

Favorite Tracks: goosebumps, coordinate, through the late night, beibs in the trap, sweet sweet

Favorite Tracks of 2016

5. Travis Scott-Goosebumps ft. Kendrick Lamar

4. Frank Ocean- Pink + White

3. Chance the Rapper- Blessings ft. Ty Dolla Sign, Raury, BJ the Chicago Kid & Anderson .Paak

2. Drake- Child’s Play

  1. Kanye- Father Stretch My Hands Pt. 1

Yep, Father Stretch My Hands Pt. 1 is incredible. Makes me want to take on the world. Great morning alarm. And reminds me of the old Kanye. The one that just wanted to make really GOOD music.

Your turn. What was your favorite musical creations of 2016?

--

--

Jeff Williams

marketing | social entrepreneurship| corporate rebel | conscious black millennial | cofounder: BeNimbleCo.com & CapCulturePod.com