I Should NOT Have Doubted Victor Wembanyama

Joachim S. Powell
5 min readMar 1, 2024

Introduction

Before Victor Wembanyama was drafted, I wrote an article about how I was not sold on his potential. I brought up his lack of experience at the NBA level, my concerns about his frame, and how he had a limited skillset as a player. Months later, we are deep into Victor Wembanyama’s first season as an NBA player, and he has done nothing but shatter every expectation we had for him. He’s the clear front-runner for NBA 2023–24 Rookie of the Year, in the top five for every single rookie stat, entering in conversations of being one of the top 30 players in the league overall, and silencing every single doubter each time he steps onto the floor. Today, I am going to dive into how exactly he is doing that, and what I got wrong myself about Victor Wembanyama.

Wembanyama is 1 of 1

Victor Wembanyama has shown the ability to possibly play all five positions in the NBA. He’s in the top five in rookies for assists, blocks, steals, points, and rebounds, and his unique size and frame give him the ability to have an impact on the floor no matter what position he plays. Because of his view of the court, he’s able to distribute the ball…

--

--

Joachim S. Powell

Sports is my MO, but on occasion may dabble into some politics or one-off think pieces. Hopefully you enjoy my work!